Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2002
This recipe was a total hit for an adult birthday party. I served it with Vanilla Wafers. I made it the day before, added pecans and chocolate chips inside the ball...it took about 24 hours to get hard enough to shape, I rolled it in chocolate chips and pecans also. Definately make in advance
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
THIS IS VERY EASY TO MAKE AND GETS RAVE REVIEWS. I MADE TWO BALLS AND ROLLED ONE IN REGULAR OREO CRUMBS AND ONE ONE IN MINT OREO CRUMBS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Very tasty. I will add more brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
This has become a holiday tradition in my house. People are pleasantly surprised by this sweet cheese ball. My favorite is to serve it with chocolate graham crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
I am updating my rating of this recipe. I have made this several times. I have learned that you can use 1/3 less fat or regular cream cheese but it WILL NOT work with fat free cream cheese. It's doesn't matter if you use brand name or store brand. Also users may want to use the Keebler brand graham cracker STICKs. They are the perfect accessory for this recipe. I have also used GROUND nuts to cover the cheese ball. You can find this in your local grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
If you use a fat-free or fat-reduced cream cheese, it is not possible to shape into a ball, even with the addition of extra powdered sugar. Makes a great frosting recipe though. Have to go for the calories on this one and use the full fat to get a good cheeseball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
LOVED this, as did the women I served it to. I added pre-packaged Heath candy bar bits (enough to combine with the chips) and followed other reviewers input to cut back a little on the powdered sugar and up the brown sugar to 3 tablespoons. I made it well ahead of time (about 2 days, just so I would have one less thing to do when company arrived) - let it set in the fridge as it was (after stirring together); formed it into a ball and froze it (on parchment paper) for a few hours. Pulled it out an hour before eating it, put it on top of some food-processed crushed pecans in a bowl and shook the bowl enough to coat each side. Used a cheese spreader to spread it onto choc. graham cracker sticks as others suggested. Can't sing this recipe's praises enough, and so EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
This was wonderful! I took it to a potluck and people I'd never met before were asking me for the recipe. I rolled mine in graham cracker crumbs & more chocolate chip instead of nuts and that worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I made this for a bachularette party... it tastes great... but i got generic graham crackers, and they tasted stale, so not many people ate it, but the ones that did said it was great. I had to explain it to them a couple of times so they would understand it was a desert. Probably would do better with a more adult, non-picky eater group. I honestly didn't have any problem making it. I let it sit in the bowl in the regrig over night, rolled it up in saran wrap, and stuck it in the freezer until i was ready to serve it. It was perfect! (Kinda looked like a Hershey's Kiss) Oh, and I didn't roll mine in any nuts, just more chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
This recipe is a winner all around! I've made it several times for different functions and everyone loves it once they realize it's a dessert cheese ball. Be careful when mixing it though - the mixture gets way too soft to handle. I put it in the freezer to firm up. Then I shape it into a ball. Then I freeze it again to firm it up enough to add the pecan coating. I then wrap the cheese ball in foil and keep it frozen until about 30 minutes prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States