Chocolate Chip Candy Cane Meringue Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
These are great! I made them as directed, but took another reviewer's advice and put some crushed candy cane on top. Very cute, easy and delicious!! The reviewer who said it took 40 minutes to beat the eggs and only made 15 cookies clearly must have done something wrong. It took me about 10 minutes to get to stiff peaks, and I got plenty of cookies. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made these addictive cookies for the 2nd time, and once again they were a huge hit! I love them because they merge all of the flavors of several traditional Christmas cookie flavors into one cookie. You have candy cane crumbles, chocolate, and crushed walnuts (I toast mine for a richer nut flavor) all held together by a light, yet pasty, sugary meringue binder. For an extra festive touch, once I mixed all of the ingredients, I evenly divide the unbaked mix into two bowls and added red food color to one, and green to the other. 3 drops is all that is needed to turn these white cookies into holly jolly shades of red and green. I make them a bit bigger because I find it virtually impossible to measure 1 tsp of the sticky, chunky batter. I used a 1/2 TBSP to scoop out the dough, which required extra baking time. In some cases it took an extra 12 min., but the "dough" is very forgiving. If they don't release from the parchment cleanly and easily right out of the oven, that's a big hint that they need more time in the oven. I used a kitchen timer set by 5 min. increments. It also helps to let them cool a few minutes on the cookie sheet before removing, lest they fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
My daughters' call these little pieces of heaven and they really are. I double the eggs (because 2 really are not enough - or they're using EXTREMELY large eggs that are not available at our local grocer), cut out the walnuts, use 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips and sprinkle a little of the remaining candy cane on top for show. We get about 50 heaping tablespoon sized treats from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
An extremely good tasting cookie. A little more chewy then I would like. The chocolate and mint work well together and I liked how the candy cane melted into the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Made this today...very, very good and perfect for the holidays! Didn't change a thing and had no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I made changes OF COURSE. I used the basic meringue recipe but used lemon extract instead of vanilla and lemon zest instead of candycanes/ choco chips. I added a touch of yellow food coloring and they were PERFECT. Sunny yellow, lemony, light and crisp. I baked them for 40 minutes and then let them sit out over night. 1 hr out of the oven they were a bit wet in the center but by the next day PERFECT. They certainly didn't make 60 cookies though. I got 1 cookie sheet of medium sized cookies, maybe 12-15. I will make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
These are delish! Someone made these for a Christmas party I went to and were a huge hit! Such an interesting texture and very different. Egg whites being at room temp and making sure no yolk sneaks in is crucial to achieving peaks easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These are now my favorite holiday cookies. It took longer to bake as I wanted to make sure the meringue dried -- baked about 50 minutes. The secret is room temp eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These cookies were pretty good but kind of frustrating for me to make. I just couldnt get the batter to be as fluffy as I wanted and wasnt sure about the peaks. Wish there was more of an elaboration on that part of the recipe for those who arent use to dealing with meringue. I left out the walnuts cuz I didnt have em on hand. The cookies were good and I may make em again but nothing out of this world at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mctmagill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Everyone kind of picked other cookies instead of mine, but everyone who did try them loved them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States