Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This cake, for one thing, is very rich. I wouldn't recommend using anymore chocolate on it ie: frosting or filling. Instrad, I just used vanilla frosting on it and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I made this for a neighbor kid's birhtday. It was a hit. I did change it a little. I used a bundt pan and baked it for about 45 minutes and instead of greasing and flouring, I greased and sugared. It was just regular white sugar, but it left a pretty (and tasty) crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I'm torn between giving 4 or 5 stars. It was very good, but a bit heavy on the baking powder. It affects the taste, more so as leftovers. I made a simple icing (2T butter creamed with 1 c powdered sugar, then whisked 2 T milk into it) which worked well. Served it with vanilla ice cream. I would like to try it again with less baking powder. I'll try to remember to edit this review after I tinker a bit. However, I do think this was a good cake, and did not taste "healthy" despite the wheat flour. I got compliments from family & guests! And that's why I voted 5 stars instead of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is a dense, chocolatey cake. Simple, but delicious, and hits the spot if you are a fan of rich cakes and chocolate (like me!). I did not use any icing, and don't think it's necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I used all white sugar and coffee instead of milk. Very sugary. I liked it, but it's not for those who are diabetic or don't like a strong sugar taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
We personally all loved this recipe. I think it would have been great without the chocolate chips also. It is rich- but I like desserts that way. My husband does not like flour cakes but he really enjoyed this. That says a lot. I just added a light frosting made with cocoa, water, and powdered sugar. The whole cake was eaten within 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
It was so tasty and deliciously strategically genius......Five star for sure!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORIA Alexander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I was looking for a chocolate chip cake recipe to replace one I lost to make for my teen son whose grandfather was dying--and this was even better than my original. I used King Arthur white flour for all of it in lieu of whole wheat, a 12 oz. package of Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate chips, and baked it in a tube pan for roughly 43 minutes. Right out of the oven I shook granulated white sugar on top for a sweet crunch. Delicious with absolutely no leavening taste whatsoever, as was one reviewer's experience. The chocolate was the perfect amount, and the crumb very moist. This will be a staple for my son and his friends. Thank you, Lil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I made this cake and once I put the choco chips in it smelt and tasted really wheat-y and maybe too healthy for cake. I was disappointed but put it in the oven. It actually started to smell really good! Then when I took it out it was really good but still had that healthy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I took Rachel's advice and did the extra whipped up egg white trick, and I also put a bit of lemon juice and the vanilla into the milk (letting it sit for 4 or minutes). I scattered the batter with roughly chopped chocolate (dark and milk) and this is yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States