Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is a dense, chocolatey cake. Simple, but delicious, and hits the spot if you are a fan of rich cakes and chocolate (like me!). I did not use any icing, and don't think it's necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Turned out great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
After reading other reviews, I made some changes to this recipe. I decreased the amount of baking powder to 2 tsp and added a teaspoon of cinnamon to the dry ingredients. I baked it in a bundt pan, and buttered and cinnamon-sugared the pan instead of butter and flouring it. This posed a problem, as half the cake stuck & I was going to take a picture of it to put on here! I used Ghiradelli dark chocolate chips, chopped up-- it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Been looking for a good recipe for awhile, and this wasn't it. Yes it tasted of chocolate, but that's about it, the 'cake' part was completely unimpressive. I had to compensate by putting a layer of caramel between the layers and then topping the whole thing with ganache. Those additions were great but I'll keep searching for a "GOOD" chocolate chip cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaplinj

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I made this for a neighbor kid's birhtday. It was a hit. I did change it a little. I used a bundt pan and baked it for about 45 minutes and instead of greasing and flouring, I greased and sugared. It was just regular white sugar, but it left a pretty (and tasty) crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I made this for my husband's birthday as he was wanting a chocolate chip cake. It's a good cake, but it is rather heavy. I ended up using the Cool Whipped Frosting from this site with it, which worked out well as I think anything else would have made the cake way too rich. It was enjoyed by the whole family, but definitely keep in mind that it's a heavy, rich cake. I think it would probably make good muffins/cupcakes dur to its denseness, but I haven't actually tried it as such yet, so I have no idea how they'd end up baking. I would recommend it as long as you aren't expecting a light, fluffy style cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyoftheIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
A little bit on the heavy side, but very very tasty! Use a chocolate glaze on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
If you are not a fan of wheat flour this may not be a favorite for you. I'd like to sub the wheat flour for more white flour and maybe a bit more vanilla. The texture of the cake was great, taste was kinda floury.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I'm torn between giving 4 or 5 stars. It was very good, but a bit heavy on the baking powder. It affects the taste, more so as leftovers. I made a simple icing (2T butter creamed with 1 c powdered sugar, then whisked 2 T milk into it) which worked well. Served it with vanilla ice cream. I would like to try it again with less baking powder. I'll try to remember to edit this review after I tinker a bit. However, I do think this was a good cake, and did not taste "healthy" despite the wheat flour. I got compliments from family & guests! And that's why I voted 5 stars instead of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This cake, for one thing, is very rich. I wouldn't recommend using anymore chocolate on it ie: frosting or filling. Instrad, I just used vanilla frosting on it and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States