Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by C. Johnson
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Not enough butter & too many eggs. End result: I added 3T extra of butter than recommended in the recipe, but kept the 3 eggs, and the cake turned out to be moist enough, but too tough (probably due to too many eggs). Tasty enough but I will use a different recipe, next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I was looking for a chocolate chip cake recipe to replace one I lost to make for my teen son whose grandfather was dying--and this was even better than my original. I used King Arthur white flour for all of it in lieu of whole wheat, a 12 oz. package of Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate chips, and baked it in a tube pan for roughly 43 minutes. Right out of the oven I shook granulated white sugar on top for a sweet crunch. Delicious with absolutely no leavening taste whatsoever, as was one reviewer's experience. The chocolate was the perfect amount, and the crumb very moist. This will be a staple for my son and his friends. Thank you, Lil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I made this cake and once I put the choco chips in it smelt and tasted really wheat-y and maybe too healthy for cake. I was disappointed but put it in the oven. It actually started to smell really good! Then when I took it out it was really good but still had that healthy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I took Rachel's advice and did the extra whipped up egg white trick, and I also put a bit of lemon juice and the vanilla into the milk (letting it sit for 4 or minutes). I scattered the batter with roughly chopped chocolate (dark and milk) and this is yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I used all white sugar and coffee instead of milk. Very sugary. I liked it, but it's not for those who are diabetic or don't like a strong sugar taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Cake is very sweet and heavy. The second time I made it, I reduced both sugars by 1/4 cup. The family eats it, but it didn't make the cut for the family cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
In my pursuit of making things I like at least a little healthier, I adjusted this recipe by doing the following: Substituting coconut oil for butter, using soy milk instead of regular milk, and using all egg whites. It was really good! I agree with others that the cake is a little heavy and dense, but it makes sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latty72
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
It was so tasty and deliciously strategically genius......Five star for sure!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORIA Alexander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Since previous reviewers said the recipe was heavy, I substituted all white flour for the whole wheat and separated the eggs. I added the yolks when the original recipe called for, but beat the whites, including one extra egg white, then folded them into the mixed batter right before putting it in the pans. I also used sour milk instead of regular milk. This turned out wonderfully-- very light! In the past week, I have made the cake twice: once for a large party using a Nutella frosting, and then on Thanksgiving Day topped with a fudge icing. Got rave reviews each time. I like the changes and will be using this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
We personally all loved this recipe. I think it would have been great without the chocolate chips also. It is rich- but I like desserts that way. My husband does not like flour cakes but he really enjoyed this. That says a lot. I just added a light frosting made with cocoa, water, and powdered sugar. The whole cake was eaten within 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States