Chocolate Chip Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is a great recipe for chocolate cake, but the glaze really makes it special! I did as other reviewers suggested and doubled the recipe, added about 1/2 cup applesauce, and used cake flour instead of all purpose flour because that's what I had on hand. I also had to use other brands of chocolate as I didn't have any Ghirardelli. Baked it for 60 minutes, which may have been a few minutes too long, but still wonderful. This cake is really good, but it's almost too chocolate for me - we solved that by serving it with vanilla ice cream :) A delicious dessert made very special by a wonderful glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Cake was very dry and dense. Also realized after making recipe that it only filled my bundt pan less than halfway so had to make another batch just to get one regular size bundt cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I don't get the low ratings for this recipe. It's perfect as is. Of course, you need to thoroughly grease your bundt pan (as the recipe states) and allow the cake to cool before removing it. This will prevent any sticking. I didn't make the glaze. The cake was delicious without it. I used a powdered sugar dusting instead. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
The glaze is essential. Without the glaze the cake tastes like a brownie. With the glaze it is a delicious chocolate cake. The cake is short -- half the size you expect -- and it has twice stuck to the pan and so came out broken. Not sure what to do about that, but the glaze patched it over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
The cake's texture and taste was okay, but it comes out so tiny that it looks ridiculous. Ingredients should be doubled. I've made tons of bundt cakes, and this is the first one that did not come out of the pan in one piece. I didn't bother with the icing; will not make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Like everyone else, I doubled the recipe. Also added 1/2 cup applesauce since others said it was dry, used strong coffee instead of water (made a minor difference) and baked for 60 minutes. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Harper M.
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Along with fellow reviewers, I agree it was not as large as it preceded. But it was small in size and BIG on taste, so rich, definitely a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harper M.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Hmmm. Just came out of the oven and its TINY! Read the reviews and double recipe. Cant wait to taste it! Batter is good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I'm not going to lie to you. I didn't make the cake. They don't sell Ghiradelli products in the Middle East, where I'm living now. I did make a caramel cake and I made the GLAZE from the recipe above... using a sub-standard brand of chocolate. The results were pretty, but you can't beat good chocolate. I'll make this cake when I get home.... using Ghiradelli chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I bought a heavy metal rose shaped bundt pan at an estate sale today and after washing it my husband said well lets try it out so I came across this recipe. All I had on hand was hershey's unsweetened cocoa, only had white choco. chips, and had a bag of dark chocolate "Wilton" candy melts in pantry. So made this with what I had in the house. This is an awesome bundt cake. The topping was really good, I used a 12 oz bag of the dark chocolate candy melts and 1 cup of the heavy cream and 3 pinches salt and about a teaspoon of sugar, it worked just fine, I only used probably 3/4 of the sauce. If I ever have the Ghirardelli on hand I will use that but because I probably wont I will use what I have and whats affordable. Definitely try this recipe its worth the work. Also, I had to bake it for about 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States