Chocolate Chip Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sarbear
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I read the reviews and made this cake anyway! I am so glad that I did. I made exactly as the recipe stated though I used a different brand of chocolate. Mine took about 48 minutes to cook to perfection, and I dusted it with icing sugar instead of making the glaze. It is spectacular and will be going into my regular recipe rotation. Definitely try it once and if it's not what you love tweak it as others have, but try it just once as it calls for. My family loves it and I'll be surprised if it lasts more than a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I think the recipe needs to be doubled for a full bundt cake. While I used Nestlés morsels I found the cake was sweet enough for me but was heavier more like a brownie than a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Good for brownies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Made this cake and loved it! I doubled the recipe like many of you to make a full size bundt cake. I also used the tip about replacing the water with coffee and adding 1/2 c applesauce to the mix to keep it moist. The glaze is super simple to make as well. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is a great recipe for chocolate cake, but the glaze really makes it special! I did as other reviewers suggested and doubled the recipe, added about 1/2 cup applesauce, and used cake flour instead of all purpose flour because that's what I had on hand. I also had to use other brands of chocolate as I didn't have any Ghirardelli. Baked it for 60 minutes, which may have been a few minutes too long, but still wonderful. This cake is really good, but it's almost too chocolate for me - we solved that by serving it with vanilla ice cream :) A delicious dessert made very special by a wonderful glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Cake was very dry and dense. Also realized after making recipe that it only filled my bundt pan less than halfway so had to make another batch just to get one regular size bundt cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I don't get the low ratings for this recipe. It's perfect as is. Of course, you need to thoroughly grease your bundt pan (as the recipe states) and allow the cake to cool before removing it. This will prevent any sticking. I didn't make the glaze. The cake was delicious without it. I used a powdered sugar dusting instead. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
The glaze is essential. Without the glaze the cake tastes like a brownie. With the glaze it is a delicious chocolate cake. The cake is short -- half the size you expect -- and it has twice stuck to the pan and so came out broken. Not sure what to do about that, but the glaze patched it over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
The cake's texture and taste was okay, but it comes out so tiny that it looks ridiculous. Ingredients should be doubled. I've made tons of bundt cakes, and this is the first one that did not come out of the pan in one piece. I didn't bother with the icing; will not make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Like everyone else, I doubled the recipe. Also added 1/2 cup applesauce since others said it was dry, used strong coffee instead of water (made a minor difference) and baked for 60 minutes. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States