Chocolate Chip Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
My husband loves it. I have sent tis recipe to many friends. To make it lower in fat I substituted skim milk, 2 egg whites & lower fat margarine. I also use the basic recipe & substitue nuts & raisons for chocoloate chips. Thank you Thankyou. Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
Few things I did different - I forgot to add the chocolate chips in last and added them with the wet ingredients so it turned the whole dough a chocolate brown and also made it too wet so I added more flour. I let the bread machine do the kneading but took it out for the bake cycle and added some more chocolate chips. It just came out of the oven (32 minutes at 350) and we had melty double chocolatey bread - mmmmm!! I also used 2 tblsp. vegetable oil instead of the butter because I didn't have the butter. It does have a very subtle but definently there cinnamon flavor, it almost should be called Cinammon Chocolate Chip Bread, except that I'm not a big cinnamon fan and I love this bread so that name would probably have turned me off. Next time I would wait to put the chocolate chips in - the chocolate bread is good but I think I used close to 2 cups of chocolate chips, too much to be anywhere near good for you. I would still bake it in the oven, but I would let it cool in the pan instead of taking it out right away so that we would get chocolate chips instead of a chocolate ribbon. Definently will be making again when I'm craving something chocolatey and sweet and don't have the butter to make cookies :) ! Thanks Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
I tried this recipe FOUR TIMES before it worked out for me. #1...Put everything in the bread machine except the chocolate chips. Waited for the fruit/nut timer to go off. TV on loud. Missed timer. Resulting bread sweet and moist, but chipless. #2...Put everything in the bread machine, including chips. Chips melted. Had chocolate bread. Both Boyfriend and I didn't like it. #3...Put everything in bread machine except chips. Waited for timer. Added chips. Chips STILL MELTED. Was disgusted with self. Threw batter away. #4...Added all ingredients except chips to bread machine. Selected dough only. When dough was finished, kneaded chips into dough (it was VERY STICKY), put it in a greased and floured 10" bread pan, let it rise a bit, baked it at 350 for about a half hour. The resulting bread was moist and nicely speckled with gooey chocolate chips. WHEW!!! :) Next time I make it, I will make the dough only, knead in the chips, and then select the bake only function to bake it in the bread machine. It cooks more evenly in the machine, it seems. Learn from my mistakes: if in fact you want chocolate CHIp bread, and not chocolate bread, you'll need to knead. Best of luck and thanks Heather for your recipe. My boyfriend is happy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Excellent recipe! I substituted vanilla for the cinnamon and used white chocolate chips. I used the fruit/nut setting on my machine with light crust and it turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Good bread- the chips melted even though I thought I had waited long enough! good flavor still!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAPATTEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
I tried this recipe out on my new bread machine, and I think it turned out well. The chocolate chips do melt during kneeding, and since I wanted chips throughout the bread I added more during the second rise cycle. I think it would actually make a great cinnamon raison bread if I substitute raisins for chocolate chips. My bf's only complaint was that it was a little dry, so I may experiment a little with the ingredients to get a moister bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This is a real good bread that isn't too sweet or heavy in fat, but has a nice chocolate flavor. I've made it many times and eat it as a desert bread with butter, heated or toasted. Good one, Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This is a great recipe although I did a few things differently. I used the dough cycle on my bread machine and followed the ingredients list exactly, keeping the chocolate chips in the refrigerator to keep them cold and prevent melting. On the advice of other reviewers I did not put them in during the "add in" beeper. I let the dough finish the full dough cycle in the machine, then took it out and divided into three loaves for my small loaf pans. I kneaded the cold chocolate chips into the three loaves (this was tricky as the chips did not want to "stick" in the dough evenly, but with some patience you can do it). I let the loaves rise for another 45 minutes or so, then baked at 350* in my oven for about 30 minutes. Wow!!! The chocolate chips were perfectly placed and the bread was delicious! I think it's best warm straight out of the oven. This was a big hit in my house and I will definitely be making it again! Thanks for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Followed the recipie but used frozen chips and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I added the chocolate chips at the beep for the add-in cycle and wound up with chocolate bread (after reading the other reviews, I realize I should've frozen them first). My son loves it, but my husband and I both think it is just "ok". Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAMILYJEANS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States