Chocolate Chip Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Keesha
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Super-de-duper recipe! Perfect texture for this type of bread. I am not quite keen on cinnamon for my own personal tastes I cut the portion in half. I used frozen chocolate chips, not room temperature to avoid them melting. Instead of adding them at the add-in cycle I put them in during the very last knead. I will absolutely fix this again...this week no doubt! I used the regular setting, 2 pound load, with medium darkness. I use a Breadman machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2000
Be careful if your bread maker's "add fruits and nuts" beep rings early! Mine does, and thus the machine was too hot and melted all the chocolate chips. The resulting chocolate bread was very delicious so I am definitely willing to try this again. If it doesn't work out again and I get no chocholate CHIPS, the resulting bread is still so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I wanted chocolate chip cookies but my cookie sheets are packed away as I'm in the process of moving. My bread making stuff was still accessible so I figured I'd give this recipe a shot. I may never make cookies again this bread turned out so moist and perfect.The only thing I changed a little was I added a heaping teaspoon of cinnamon and probably a few more chocolate chips than the recipe calls for (I didn't measure, I just tossed them in at the beep). I also added a bit more flour during the first kneading cycle because the dough was more like a batter at that point. A lot of chips settled to one side of the pan where the kneading didn't quite get to them, which left a nice crust of chocolate on one end, but next time I'll watch the time more closely to try to get the chips in just before the second kneading cycle (when my machine beeps for additions) so the chocolate chips might mix a bit better. I had my chocolate chips in the freezer, which may have helped a bit. Since I would have loved this information when looking at reviews, my bread machine is a Sunbeam 5891 and the fruit/nut beep seemed to be right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I had to add 1/2 cup more flour, but this turned out wonderful. A big high loaf with a soft cake-like texture, it's great for dessert or peanut butter sandwiches. I also added a few drops of vanilla extract, increased yeast to 2 teasp. and used 1/2 cup each of chocolate chips and peanut butter chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
I made this for my family, and my mother liked it very much. My young sister, however, disliked it and said that it was 'too bland'. I enjoyed it, but next time, I'd wait until after the add-in beeper to put the chips in because the beeper went off too early and all the chips melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
We love this one!! Compared to the other recipe which uses twice the butter but less 1 tbsp of brown sugar and yeast, I think this one has the more spot on measurements. I have no bread machine so I did the kneading on my KA. I let it rise 3 times, and my bread baked up so high and fluffy. I had to use 1 cup more flour, but that is because our weather here is so humid. Baked it in the oven at 350 for about 35 minutes. I added a little cocoa powder in place of the cinnamon, and will increase the cocoa to 1tbsp because we love chocolate here. Mmm. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2000
This is a great bread for anyone desiring a bit of chocolate to satify a sweet tooth. The kids like it and the moms in my neighborhood say,"I could eat the whole loaf by myself".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This bread is wonderful! Turned out perfectly! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2000
Kids love the chocolatey taste, but, the bread doesn't seem to rise the same as others. The chips don't seem to spread through the bread evenly either. Pretty easy to make though. Will definitely try it again, using my other bread machine to see if it makes a difference in the rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Turned out delicious, even though I substituted some ingredients, not too sweet. I used sugar free chocolate chips (from Walmart) and mostly artificial sweetener, used just enough sugar for rising. I used some soy, oat and whole wheat flour that I had premixed, more all purpose than the others (just regular flour, not bread). I was not in a cinnamon mood, so used ground vanilla beans. I recently got my first bread maker, a Westbend 41400. I missed the 'add in' beeps, so kneaded in the chips at the beginning of the third rise. I decided to freeze half the dough (without chips), to help with portion control. As someone already mentioned, the dough was very sticky (I had added more flour while it was mixing) and it took a bit to get the chips mixed in, somewhat messy process. I had set the machine for a 2 lb loaf and medium crust and it was pretty crunchy (probably because I only baked half the dough). The loaf was not dense, it is a perfect texture. Thanks for posting the recipe and comments. I love so many versatile bread machine recipes here, I had to get some home exercise equipment to burn calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States