Chocolate Chip Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
yummy! replaced cinnamon w/vanilla, use medium crust (I still like light though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I used the 1.5 pound setting with medium crust but I ended up having to add more flour (~1/2 cup) like many others. I probably should have used the 2 lb setting. It rose past the top of the pan. I used frozen chips added in after an hour and they were mostly melted in. Soft, sweet, with a nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I worried it wouldn't rise with frozen chips and so little yeast but it came out fine. Just a little more dense than most store loaves of bread. I also had to add an extra 1/4 cup flour to get dough instead of batter. I do not recommend scaling up the recipe for a 2 lb loaf or you risk overflowing the machine. Low crumb, slices and holds together nicely, not too sweet. Med setting for crust actually gets a med crust - not to crusty, not too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This bread was awesome! I made it and had it for breakfast all week, it also made yummy french toast! I put my chocolate chips in the freezer for an hour before I made the bread and they stayed as chips and didn't melt and make chocolate bread :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I wanted chocolate chip cookies but my cookie sheets are packed away as I'm in the process of moving. My bread making stuff was still accessible so I figured I'd give this recipe a shot. I may never make cookies again this bread turned out so moist and perfect.The only thing I changed a little was I added a heaping teaspoon of cinnamon and probably a few more chocolate chips than the recipe calls for (I didn't measure, I just tossed them in at the beep). I also added a bit more flour during the first kneading cycle because the dough was more like a batter at that point. A lot of chips settled to one side of the pan where the kneading didn't quite get to them, which left a nice crust of chocolate on one end, but next time I'll watch the time more closely to try to get the chips in just before the second kneading cycle (when my machine beeps for additions) so the chocolate chips might mix a bit better. I had my chocolate chips in the freezer, which may have helped a bit. Since I would have loved this information when looking at reviews, my bread machine is a Sunbeam 5891 and the fruit/nut beep seemed to be right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I had to add 1/2 cup more flour, but this turned out wonderful. A big high loaf with a soft cake-like texture, it's great for dessert or peanut butter sandwiches. I also added a few drops of vanilla extract, increased yeast to 2 teasp. and used 1/2 cup each of chocolate chips and peanut butter chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I made this 3x this week - I'm in LOVE with this recipe! I didn't have any problems with the chocolate chips - I just added them when the beeper called for them. I did add a splash of almond extract and a splash of orange extract. This bread is moist and addictive. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This bread was just ok. I froze the chocolate chips to try and prevent them from melting, but it didn't work. I ended up with with a chocolate cinnamon bread that was pretty bland and a slightly weird taste. I may try again, but put the chocolate chips in as late as I possibly can and cut the cinnamon in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smllover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keesha
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Super-de-duper recipe! Perfect texture for this type of bread. I am not quite keen on cinnamon for my own personal tastes I cut the portion in half. I used frozen chocolate chips, not room temperature to avoid them melting. Instead of adding them at the add-in cycle I put them in during the very last knead. I will absolutely fix this again...this week no doubt! I used the regular setting, 2 pound load, with medium darkness. I use a Breadman machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This came out really nice, smelled wonderful! But the chocolate chips melted completely into the loaf and I do have a fruit/nut beeper. I was thinking that maybe if you put the chips in frozen? Hard to say but a nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYDLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States