Chocolate Chip Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This is my first rating to ever give from years of using Allrecipes. I loved this one! My chips did seem to melt, as in other reviews, but it made a swirl, so I sort of liked it. I will have to go wake up my family for breakfast now... Before I eat it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hewitt, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This is a favorite in my house. I usually make it following the recipe exactly. Yesterday, however, when I was about to make it I realized I was out of chocolate chips (thanks to a couple chocolate chip thieves in my house). Being snowed in due to the blizzard I was unable to get more so I made it anyways, leaving the chocolate chips out. My two children (ages 11 and 13) both said they actually liked the bread better without the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Very bland. I subsituted the cinnamon with espresso powder and added one more TBSP of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Made this twice in the last two days; as the first time the chocolate chips went in too early and I had chocolate bread. It was my first time using my new bread maker and used automatic fruit and nut dispenser. I made it again last night and put the chocolate chips in myself. It turned out so great! Both times really. The flavors were perfect. I did add 1/2 tsp. of extra cinnamon to the second batch. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Love, love, love this bread. Added a bit more flour because of other reviews. Used 1 cup of chips. Added the chips when the timer beeped for additions. Turned out moist and perfect, chips didn't melt. My family gobbled it up. Made 3 loaves in a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarensPerspective

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Turned out delicious, even though I substituted some ingredients, not too sweet. I used sugar free chocolate chips (from Walmart) and mostly artificial sweetener, used just enough sugar for rising. I used some soy, oat and whole wheat flour that I had premixed, more all purpose than the others (just regular flour, not bread). I was not in a cinnamon mood, so used ground vanilla beans. I recently got my first bread maker, a Westbend 41400. I missed the 'add in' beeps, so kneaded in the chips at the beginning of the third rise. I decided to freeze half the dough (without chips), to help with portion control. As someone already mentioned, the dough was very sticky (I had added more flour while it was mixing) and it took a bit to get the chips mixed in, somewhat messy process. I had set the machine for a 2 lb loaf and medium crust and it was pretty crunchy (probably because I only baked half the dough). The loaf was not dense, it is a perfect texture. Thanks for posting the recipe and comments. I love so many versatile bread machine recipes here, I had to get some home exercise equipment to burn calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
WOW! This is going to be my go to recipe for a sweet yet versatile bread. It baked beautifully and has just the right amount of chocolate and cinnamon for me. I am getting ready to bake my 2nd loaf (the first one was gone before I knew it) so that I can make French Toast tomorrow. I think I'll try a slice tonight with a cup of Mexican hot chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
tastes good and is easy to make. I make it and than use it for french toast and my family really likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Okay first time making this. Set it to med and it was still slightly doughy in the middle. Sooo disappointed. What pieces I was able to pull of and try was good. So I'll maybe have to try the dark setting for it to bake all the way? (partly might be my breadmaker, its 1pound and a little old, think its time for a new one!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This was a good bread... I also had trouble with the chocolate chips melting. I always keep my chocolate chips in the freezer and even using frozen chocolate chips did not seem to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States