Chocolate Chip Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2000
Be careful if your bread maker's "add fruits and nuts" beep rings early! Mine does, and thus the machine was too hot and melted all the chocolate chips. The resulting chocolate bread was very delicious so I am definitely willing to try this again. If it doesn't work out again and I get no chocholate CHIPS, the resulting bread is still so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Just baked this and I like it a lot (the kids love it too!). Some variations: I used low-fat UHT milk. Kids don't like cinnamon so I substituted with pure cocoa powder instead. Also added a bit of bread softener/improver. Result is a sweet, soft and very fluffy bread with good crust (I used dark setting).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This bread is wonderful! Turned out perfectly! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I had to add 1/2 cup more flour, but this turned out wonderful. A big high loaf with a soft cake-like texture, it's great for dessert or peanut butter sandwiches. I also added a few drops of vanilla extract, increased yeast to 2 teasp. and used 1/2 cup each of chocolate chips and peanut butter chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I wanted chocolate chip cookies but my cookie sheets are packed away as I'm in the process of moving. My bread making stuff was still accessible so I figured I'd give this recipe a shot. I may never make cookies again this bread turned out so moist and perfect.The only thing I changed a little was I added a heaping teaspoon of cinnamon and probably a few more chocolate chips than the recipe calls for (I didn't measure, I just tossed them in at the beep). I also added a bit more flour during the first kneading cycle because the dough was more like a batter at that point. A lot of chips settled to one side of the pan where the kneading didn't quite get to them, which left a nice crust of chocolate on one end, but next time I'll watch the time more closely to try to get the chips in just before the second kneading cycle (when my machine beeps for additions) so the chocolate chips might mix a bit better. I had my chocolate chips in the freezer, which may have helped a bit. Since I would have loved this information when looking at reviews, my bread machine is a Sunbeam 5891 and the fruit/nut beep seemed to be right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
This bread was enjoyed by my family very much. Has a great flavor and texture. I baked it 15 minutes less than bread machine called for and it turned out perfectly. I did not add the chocolate chips but will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
We love this one!! Compared to the other recipe which uses twice the butter but less 1 tbsp of brown sugar and yeast, I think this one has the more spot on measurements. I have no bread machine so I did the kneading on my KA. I let it rise 3 times, and my bread baked up so high and fluffy. I had to use 1 cup more flour, but that is because our weather here is so humid. Baked it in the oven at 350 for about 35 minutes. I added a little cocoa powder in place of the cinnamon, and will increase the cocoa to 1tbsp because we love chocolate here. Mmm. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
so good and so moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sicklerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I made this 3x this week - I'm in LOVE with this recipe! I didn't have any problems with the chocolate chips - I just added them when the beeper called for them. I did add a splash of almond extract and a splash of orange extract. This bread is moist and addictive. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This bread was awesome! I made it and had it for breakfast all week, it also made yummy french toast! I put my chocolate chips in the freezer for an hour before I made the bread and they stayed as chips and didn't melt and make chocolate bread :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States