Chocolate Chip Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I like to add cinnamon and nutmeg to it. It not only makes the house smell good, but it also adds a little depth to the taste and brings out the chocolate and then it makes the most amazing cinnamon toast ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Was too big for my bread machine. The bread expanded and made a huge mess. Tastes really good. Like other reviewers stated the chocolate chips melted even though I added them at the correct time. The cinnamon is a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilroy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
yummy! replaced cinnamon w/vanilla, use medium crust (I still like light though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I used the 1.5 pound setting with medium crust but I ended up having to add more flour (~1/2 cup) like many others. I probably should have used the 2 lb setting. It rose past the top of the pan. I used frozen chips added in after an hour and they were mostly melted in. Soft, sweet, with a nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I worried it wouldn't rise with frozen chips and so little yeast but it came out fine. Just a little more dense than most store loaves of bread. I also had to add an extra 1/4 cup flour to get dough instead of batter. I do not recommend scaling up the recipe for a 2 lb loaf or you risk overflowing the machine. Low crumb, slices and holds together nicely, not too sweet. Med setting for crust actually gets a med crust - not to crusty, not too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This bread was awesome! I made it and had it for breakfast all week, it also made yummy french toast! I put my chocolate chips in the freezer for an hour before I made the bread and they stayed as chips and didn't melt and make chocolate bread :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I wanted chocolate chip cookies but my cookie sheets are packed away as I'm in the process of moving. My bread making stuff was still accessible so I figured I'd give this recipe a shot. I may never make cookies again this bread turned out so moist and perfect.The only thing I changed a little was I added a heaping teaspoon of cinnamon and probably a few more chocolate chips than the recipe calls for (I didn't measure, I just tossed them in at the beep). I also added a bit more flour during the first kneading cycle because the dough was more like a batter at that point. A lot of chips settled to one side of the pan where the kneading didn't quite get to them, which left a nice crust of chocolate on one end, but next time I'll watch the time more closely to try to get the chips in just before the second kneading cycle (when my machine beeps for additions) so the chocolate chips might mix a bit better. I had my chocolate chips in the freezer, which may have helped a bit. Since I would have loved this information when looking at reviews, my bread machine is a Sunbeam 5891 and the fruit/nut beep seemed to be right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I had to add 1/2 cup more flour, but this turned out wonderful. A big high loaf with a soft cake-like texture, it's great for dessert or peanut butter sandwiches. I also added a few drops of vanilla extract, increased yeast to 2 teasp. and used 1/2 cup each of chocolate chips and peanut butter chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I made this 3x this week - I'm in LOVE with this recipe! I didn't have any problems with the chocolate chips - I just added them when the beeper called for them. I did add a splash of almond extract and a splash of orange extract. This bread is moist and addictive. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This bread was just ok. I froze the chocolate chips to try and prevent them from melting, but it didn't work. I ended up with with a chocolate cinnamon bread that was pretty bland and a slightly weird taste. I may try again, but put the chocolate chips in as late as I possibly can and cut the cinnamon in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smllover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States