Chocolate Chip Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
These are great! I did use butter instead of shortening and I added 1 cup of walnuts. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdylou68

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gray, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
My family loves these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Novelty, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
First time I made these I made them EXACTLY how it says. Right down to the Semi-Sweet Choc. chips, which I don't care for. Texture was fine. Not greasy or cake like, like so many reviewers say. Mine were more chewy cookie like. But Semi-Sweet Choco. Chips made them to bitter. So I made them a second time replacing the chips with Milk Choc. Chips and replacing the shortening with butter. So many people said the shortening made it greasy. Well mine with butter are greasy. So much so that when I stuck a skewer in the center to see if they were done it came out clean of batter but was glistening from the grease. The texture IS NOW like moist cake. In the corner of the pan the chips sunk to the bottom and it looks like a two layer cake chocolate on bottom and cookie batter flavor on top. Not pleased with the outcome. Neither attempt turned out anything like the cookie bars my grandmother use to make. First time gave a 4star rating just because the only issue was the wrong chocolate(so I thought). This time I have to down grade it to two stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
These didn't bake well for me. They were done on the top and mushy on the bottom. This was my second time trying this and I won't be trying it again. Sad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisajulie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Oh, my, I thought I just hadn't let these cool long enough but nope. They are just too greasy. I wouldn't recommend this at all. On to the next one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candytroutman
Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
These are great and easy to make. I always add a small package of instant vanilla pudding to my chocolate chip cookies as it is supposed to help make the cookies soft, so I did the same in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I just had some of these, and they are heavenly, but I made some changes. Instead of shortening, I used 2 sticks of butter. I used 1/2 cup of white sugar + 3/4 c. brown sugar. No milk, but I used 1/4 c. Miracle Whip. Baked 20 minutes and removed. After a couple more min. I cut them into squares and removed to cooling rack. They were chewy and delicious - just what I was craving without the time of baking batches of individual cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I generally do not follow any recipe exactly...don't know why I chose to this time. Bars needed a little more sweetness and were a bit greasy from the shortening. Very difficult to mix (quite a bit of flour). I will NOT make these exactly as the recipe calls for next time. I will use a little white sugar (along w/the brown sugar) and either 1/2 the shortening w/butter OR all butter. There is a definite difference between shortening and butter. The edges tend to get crispy-so I just put aluminum foil all around the edges and it comes out perfect. Should have read more reviews before trying. My family eats just about anything. Live and learn. Will come back to site for more ideas. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
YUMMMMMMM THESE WERE AMAZING I RECOMEND THIS FOR CHOCOLATE LOVERS!!!!!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States