Chocolate Chip Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
I think this is a great recipe - my family loves these bars, too. I would give it 5 stars, except I did make a couple changes. Instead of shortening, I always use real butter in this recipe. Also, I put in 3/4 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup packed brown sugar (recipe calls for 1 1/2 cup brown sugar only). My family prefers milk chocolate chips rather than semi-sweet. Give it try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcclusky, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I thought I did something wrong when I first tasted this recipe but upon double checking, I realized this recipe is just not good. The shortening causes the bars to be greasy and there's way too much flour and not enough choco chips. I had to trash this dish and start over with a new recipe. From now on, only real butter for me. Shortening just isn't right for this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Jan.'07: Just tried this recipe because of seeing 46 mostly-good reviews. They taste really good - and, yes, more cake-like but still delicious. Because of the wonderful comments from so many, I did change the recipe slightly. I reduced the baking powder and soda to 3/4 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp baking soda. I used all butter (2 sticks) and used half white/half brown sugar. I reduced the milk to 1 Tbsp. Also, I baked these 35 minutes because of suggestions from other reviewers. THANKS reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I've got it. The reason it is cake like (noted in other reviews) is because the size of the pan should be 15 x 10. You can't get 36 serving out of a 9 x 13 pan. I took the advise from the reviews and changed the shortening to butter. I used 3/4 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup brown sugar and added a cup more of chocolate chips which I changed to milk chocolate chips instead of semisweet. I made them for my daughters b-day. We decorated the pan for b-day and she shared them with her class.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
These are awful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
I thought I made these wrong. But, I double checked the recipe and I had followed it to a tee. They were very bland in taste and were as hard as a rock. Sure glad the function I was to take them to was cancelled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
After swapping the shortening for butter and regular milk for soymilk, I was pleased with my results. The bars' consistency landed somewhere between cake and bar which was fine with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
Was very disappointed with this recipe. Needed a quick dessert for a meal we were putting together for a co-worker recuperating from surgery. Needed something easy, which these were. But the grease! These are the greasiest bars I've ever made! I followed the recipe exactly, using butter flavored Crisco. I sampled one of the bars to see what it tasted like and you guessed it - grease. I'd make something else but it's 10:35 p.m. and the Scots in me won't allow me to throw them out. (Too cheap!) All I can say is I hope they don't make her feel even worse than she does. Thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
This isn't a cookie at all! It's much more like a chocolate chip cake. Tastes nice, but it's cake...not cookie. We're very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Tasted yummy but took longer to cook than the recipe indicated, maybe because I used glass bakeware. I altered it a bit by using green and red chocolate bits for the Christmas season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States