Chocolate Chip Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I made these exactly as listed, although I doubled the chips - they are wonderful. I was concerned about using all shortening, but they came out perfect. Everyone loved them. Super easy too - my batter was ready to go by the time the oven preheated! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Sanderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Armonk, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Excellent bars! My 13 yr. old daughters classmates are always asking her to bring them to school!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
The recipe was a little to simple for my taste I added sugar, more vanilla, sugar and more salt to taste. Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
I wish you could all have a whiff, I just took out these chocolate chip bars from the oven, for a cook out with friends, they look just wonderful. They were the hit of the party! Used butter flavored shortning, and added an extra cup of chocolate chips, super!!!! I will make them again, and again, and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
These are wonderful. A great alternative when you're tired of cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
took longer to cook than said
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
I think this is a great recipe - my family loves these bars, too. I would give it 5 stars, except I did make a couple changes. Instead of shortening, I always use real butter in this recipe. Also, I put in 3/4 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup packed brown sugar (recipe calls for 1 1/2 cup brown sugar only). My family prefers milk chocolate chips rather than semi-sweet. Give it try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcclusky, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
This cookie bar was THE WORST thing I have ever eaten. All you could taste was the shortening and we tossed it out!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGAN28P

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
blecch.these bars had no redeeming qualities whatsoever. they were bland and dry. after reading the reviews i used real butter inst. of shortening and white along w/ the brown sugar. but i still was not happy, something to do w the amount of flour maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States