Chocolate Chip Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I also took the advice and did 3/4c brown and white sugars and use all butter instead of the shortening. These are yummy! They don't last long. I like the 9x13 size because I like a thicker bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Tasted yummy but took longer to cook than the recipe indicated, maybe because I used glass bakeware. I altered it a bit by using green and red chocolate bits for the Christmas season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
These were okay. I did use a 10"X15" pan, so they weren't too cake like. I also used half butter and half crisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I thought this recipe was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jane Ruby
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Couldn't give it the 5 stars because I tweaked the recipe by using butter, keeping the 1 cup of choc. chips, and cutting the ingredients in half to fit a 12 inch diameter, 1 inch deep, PET (or PETE 1 recyclable plastic) cookie/pie pan that I bought from a local grocer. It originally had a chocolate chip cookie pie that was decorated with the Superbowl theme (Yea Cardinals, we almost beat those pesky Steelers!). By using a pinch more of the baking powder and salt I got a crispy cookie pie that baked up in 25 minutes. It was just barely sliceable but didn't crack unless I cut it smaller than eighths. But my family didn't want small pieces anyway, so this turned out perfect. The next time I use this recipe I'm gonna serve the slices with vanilla ice cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
After swapping the shortening for butter and regular milk for soymilk, I was pleased with my results. The bars' consistency landed somewhere between cake and bar which was fine with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Pretty good. They were really rich, but I did add an entire back of chocolate chips. I also baked them in a jelly roll pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
My friend and i attempted this recipe but it didn't turn out as well as we planned. We chose to add sugar after we tasted it and it made it better. i advise adding sugar to help sweeten it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Not a novice "cookie chef", I followed this recipe to a T... turned out terrible. was wet in the middle, high and cakey on the edges. i cut out the edges, and the chocolate chip cake portion was really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I am a butter gal at heart--the use of only shortening in this recipe gave it an odd flavor--I would use this recipe again, but use at least 50% butter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States