Chocolate Chip Banana Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
This recipe is really good - I don't normally use shortening, so I substituted butter and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
314 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Unusual mix! Added a tsp of banana extract for an extra boost of flavor and coated the chocolate chips with flour to prevent them from sinking to the bottom of the pan. Have made it for numerous camping and 4 wheeling trips for a group of hungry men. All gave me the thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I hate when my family goes out and buys storebought mixes for banana bread. It's disgusting. However, with this recipe, I think I have stopped them for good. I substitute butter for shortening, use half white sugar and half brown, halve the chocolate chips, nix the walnuts, and add one teaspoon of vanilla extract. I was skeptical at first, but the mayonnaise makes all of the difference! Next time I'll try cutting back on the fat and use apple sauce to replace some of the butter. Can it get any better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Amazing banana bread! I have been making banana bread for 12 years and have never had a bread turn out as moist as this one. I work for an extremely established restaurant and brought it in for staff meal, people were blown away. I did use butter instead of shortening though...I don't trust shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Thank you Betty for sharing this recipe. My husband asks for it repeatedly. Although it is great as is I have found that it is a very forgiving recipe. You can substitute butter for shortening, you don't have to have enough bananas and you can vary the amount of walnuts and chocolate chips to suit your taste. I bake it in a bundt pan because I think it presents well that way. You can dust the pan with cinamon sugar or cocoa if you wish to keep the bread from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Oh my gosh! YUM YUM YUM!! This reminds me so much of the banana bread my grandma used to make. So moist! I followed a few other reviewers and used butter instead of shortening. I also made this recipe in mini loaf pans and wrapped each one individually. My kids loved grabbing a mini loaf for a treat. Also, with making them as a mini loaves, I didn't have to slice it - which help me avoid the problem of some reviewers: that it was so moist it was hard to slice. With a mini loaf, you just eat it like a muffin! :) No slicing required! Just do what my kids did, stuff the whole thing in your mouth! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2000
This is a delicious, moist banana bread. I omitted the walnuts and added extra chocolate chips! Wonderful! KAMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
very very delicious!!! my family really enjoyed this one!!! I plan to add a little Cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
All I have to say is WOW. I halved the recipe because I only had three bananas. Two of them were really on their last leg and I was hesitant to use them but maybe thats why these have such an amazing banana flavor! Upon suggestion of others, I used butter instead of shortening. I also dusted my chocolate chips with a tiny dash of flour and the trick worked cuz they didn't sink! Otherwise I made exactly as shown. I made exactly 12 muffins and filled the muffin tins almost to the top. They did not overflow. I baked 350 F for 20 minutes. Good thing I checked on them. They looked really done on the top but the toothpick came up dry. They were nice and crunchy on the top but so delicious and moist in the middle. This is definitely one of my favorites. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yeongmee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Great recipe. I made a couple healthy modifications: Instead of shortening, I used 1/2 c butter and 1/2 c unsweetiened applesauce; used 1/2 white and 1/2 golden brown sugar; substituted lite mayo; used white whole wheat flour; added 2 tsp. vanilla and 1 tsp. cinnamon. Took it to work and it was gone within an hour! Very moist and still tastes decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 568) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States