Chocolate Chip Banana Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I am only giving this recipe 4 stars because I do not use shortening and used butter instead. Change this to butter and it is a 5 star. Very moist and delicious. I have never really enjoyed banana bread before but this recipe has changed my mind. This is a great recipe to use when you have overripe bananas to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Wow. Can't say much more than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I despise bananas but love this bread. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brown Deer, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Didn't quite follow the recipe as stated but the modifications didn't affect the recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treesap

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This is the best banana recipe I have found if you want a moist bread. I used butter instead of the shortening and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This is good, but I'm not sure it is better than the others I've made that didn't have the mayonnaise or shortening in it. But definitely good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Made this yesterday, one loaf is gone already, its really good. Im not usually a fan of banana bread but the chocolate chips changed my mind. I added an extra 1/2 cup of chips and accidently added an extra tsp of baking powder but it was fine. I will definately make this again, thanks....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This is a wonderful starter recipe. You can make changes for your taste and it still comes out yummo! Instead of shortening, I followed the advice of other reviewers and used butter, unsalted. But I only used half a cup and substituted the other half cup with unsweetened applesauce. I used 1/2 cup splenda and 1/2 cup brown splenda in replace of sugar. I added a teaspoon of vanilla. I must say, I did add a cup of chips, but I think it was too much. Making more today and I'm going to bump the amount of chips down to 3/4 cup. I baked mine in mini loaves and a muffin pan until they were golden brown, roughly 20 minutes. Came out perfect! They didnt fall apart or crumble. Its only been 2 days and 18 servings of it are gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Wow - so good! I am not sure how 2 tbsp of mayo made such a difference, but it did... I substituted butter for the shortening, and added 2 tsp of cinnamon, but other than that made just as is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This is the same way I make my banana bread except I add vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg (weird to not have them in there) and butter instead of shortning and I'm really wondering if the mayo is nessisary. I would have to say I love the addition of the cocolate chips and nice hint on dusting them with flour so they don't sink to the bottom. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 564) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States