Chocolate Chip Banana Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by BethandBud
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I have been making various recipes from this site for the past six months and this is the first time I felt compelled to share my opinion...this is the best chocolate-chip banana bread I have ever had. It is a moist, flavorful, fluffy and balanced bread. The only departure I made from the recipe was to use one cup brown sugar and one cup Splenda as opposed to 2 cups of sugar. My eight year old loved this because it was crunchy on top and moist and soft in the middle. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Used butter instead of shortening but made no other changes. This bread was awesome. My oldest nephew said it was amazing but to leave out the nuts next time! (I rather enjoyed the nuts)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Like everyone else, used butter instead of shortening. Make sure you use all the chocolate chips otherwise increase the amount of sugar! I used less chocolate and it came out tasting like it could use more sugar, but other than that... really moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This is a beautiful and very moist banana bread. My daughter, who did not like bananas, could not stop eating this. This recipe is definitely a keeper! P.S. I substituted the shortening with butter, used half white and half palm sugar, and did not use walnuts. This was a bit too sweet for my taste - but still really good though - so I would cut down the sugar a little bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tangerang, Banten, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
As everyone has been saying, this is an awesome recipe. My husband says it is the best banana recipe that I have made (bread, muffins, etc.). I made it into mini-muffins - baked for 20-25 minutes at 350. My alterations were: 1 C white sugar, 1/2 C brown sugar, 1 t vanilla, 1.5 C white flour, 1.5 C whole wheat flour (and some oat bran), and a combo of butter and marg instead of shortening. Great banana flavour - spouse and kids (all the neighbourhood kids) loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This was delicious. I swapped the shortening for butter as I didn't have shortening, but otherwise followed the ingredients exactly. I followed the advice of another reviewer and put in in a bundt pan but it was too much batter. Next time, I will pour the extra batter into muffin tins. Very delicious and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Delish! Didn't put in mayo and still turned out nice and moist with good banana flavors too. This one in staying in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cecil, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pulaski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
So good!! I also used butter, only because I don't keep shortening on hand. I was worried the chocolate chips would be too much, but the small amount is just right. I only have one loaf pan, so I made a loaf (it's still cooling!) and a dozen muffins (which are nearly all gone). The texture is perfect - hard to find good banana bread recipes that aren't too dense or cakey. I was a banana short, so I threw in some unsweetened applesauce. Don't think that changed it much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This was wonderful bread. Whether you bake exactly as stated or tweak for your taste it was moist and EXTREMELY scrumptious. My kids thought it was the best banana bread I have ever made...which I have tried a lot of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This recipe worked out great! I am happy that it makes two loaves because the first one is already gone! I think it is adaptable because I have made this recipe exactly as written and I have also made it with brown sugar and only 4 bananas because that's all I had on hand, and it still worked out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 581) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States