Chocolate Chip Banana Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Like everyone else, used butter instead of shortening. Make sure you use all the chocolate chips otherwise increase the amount of sugar! I used less chocolate and it came out tasting like it could use more sugar, but other than that... really moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This is a beautiful and very moist banana bread. My daughter, who did not like bananas, could not stop eating this. This recipe is definitely a keeper! P.S. I substituted the shortening with butter, used half white and half palm sugar, and did not use walnuts. This was a bit too sweet for my taste - but still really good though - so I would cut down the sugar a little bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tangerang, Banten, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
As everyone has been saying, this is an awesome recipe. My husband says it is the best banana recipe that I have made (bread, muffins, etc.). I made it into mini-muffins - baked for 20-25 minutes at 350. My alterations were: 1 C white sugar, 1/2 C brown sugar, 1 t vanilla, 1.5 C white flour, 1.5 C whole wheat flour (and some oat bran), and a combo of butter and marg instead of shortening. Great banana flavour - spouse and kids (all the neighbourhood kids) loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This was delicious. I swapped the shortening for butter as I didn't have shortening, but otherwise followed the ingredients exactly. I followed the advice of another reviewer and put in in a bundt pan but it was too much batter. Next time, I will pour the extra batter into muffin tins. Very delicious and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Delish! Didn't put in mayo and still turned out nice and moist with good banana flavors too. This one in staying in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cecil, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pulaski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
So good!! I also used butter, only because I don't keep shortening on hand. I was worried the chocolate chips would be too much, but the small amount is just right. I only have one loaf pan, so I made a loaf (it's still cooling!) and a dozen muffins (which are nearly all gone). The texture is perfect - hard to find good banana bread recipes that aren't too dense or cakey. I was a banana short, so I threw in some unsweetened applesauce. Don't think that changed it much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This was wonderful bread. Whether you bake exactly as stated or tweak for your taste it was moist and EXTREMELY scrumptious. My kids thought it was the best banana bread I have ever made...which I have tried a lot of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This recipe worked out great! I am happy that it makes two loaves because the first one is already gone! I think it is adaptable because I have made this recipe exactly as written and I have also made it with brown sugar and only 4 bananas because that's all I had on hand, and it still worked out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoJo
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I made 3 different recipes of banana bread in 3 days the first one was inedible the second was dry and the third (this recipe) was fantastic! moist and I followed it exactly just added in cinnamon. I also raised the oven rack to the middle of the oven made a huge difference in how it cooked and didn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This recipe is amazing, however I subbed the mayo for an extra banana - it's a nice substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 569) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States