Chocolate Chip Banana Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Really enjoyed this recipe. I tweaked it a little bit by adding cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla, using greek yoghurt instead of mayonnaise and pecans instead of walnuts. My family and friends LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I replaced the shortening with butter, omitted the walnuts and 1/2 the salt (used salted butter), and replaced 1/2 of the mayo with peanut butter just because I like the taste. So moist and tasty! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Loved this recipe. I cut it in half and made muffins. The recipe cut in half made 12 full muffin cups, ready in 25 minutes, light and fluffy and terrific. Next time I'll try margarine and applesauce instead of shortening. I also added a splash of vanilla, and I tossed the chocolate chips in a little flour. A great recipe. UPDATE: I tried the margarine/applesauce substitution for shortening to try and cut down on fat. They still taste great, better than the recipe I used to use. I also tried a combination of white sugar/brown sugar. I do love the basic original recipe, and making substitutions doesn't seem to change it that much, always a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BethandBud
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I have been making various recipes from this site for the past six months and this is the first time I felt compelled to share my opinion...this is the best chocolate-chip banana bread I have ever had. It is a moist, flavorful, fluffy and balanced bread. The only departure I made from the recipe was to use one cup brown sugar and one cup Splenda as opposed to 2 cups of sugar. My eight year old loved this because it was crunchy on top and moist and soft in the middle. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Used butter instead of shortening but made no other changes. This bread was awesome. My oldest nephew said it was amazing but to leave out the nuts next time! (I rather enjoyed the nuts)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Like everyone else, used butter instead of shortening. Make sure you use all the chocolate chips otherwise increase the amount of sugar! I used less chocolate and it came out tasting like it could use more sugar, but other than that... really moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This is a beautiful and very moist banana bread. My daughter, who did not like bananas, could not stop eating this. This recipe is definitely a keeper! P.S. I substituted the shortening with butter, used half white and half palm sugar, and did not use walnuts. This was a bit too sweet for my taste - but still really good though - so I would cut down the sugar a little bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tangerang, Banten, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
As everyone has been saying, this is an awesome recipe. My husband says it is the best banana recipe that I have made (bread, muffins, etc.). I made it into mini-muffins - baked for 20-25 minutes at 350. My alterations were: 1 C white sugar, 1/2 C brown sugar, 1 t vanilla, 1.5 C white flour, 1.5 C whole wheat flour (and some oat bran), and a combo of butter and marg instead of shortening. Great banana flavour - spouse and kids (all the neighbourhood kids) loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This was delicious. I swapped the shortening for butter as I didn't have shortening, but otherwise followed the ingredients exactly. I followed the advice of another reviewer and put in in a bundt pan but it was too much batter. Next time, I will pour the extra batter into muffin tins. Very delicious and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Delish! Didn't put in mayo and still turned out nice and moist with good banana flavors too. This one in staying in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cecil, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pulaski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 564) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States