Chocolate Chip Banana Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is my go to banana bread recipe and it never disappoints! I have been making it for about 1 year and it is amazing every time! So moist and flavourful! The changes I made: 2 teaspoons of milk, instead of mayo (too scared to try it with mayo), butter instead of shortening, no nuts (so add about another 1/4 cup of chocolate chips) and some 1/2 tsp of vanilla to the wet mix and cinnamon and nutmeg to the dry mix. I've deleted my other banana bread recipes because this one's just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
1 cup of butter works instead of the shortening! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I tried the recipe and did as the reviewer suggested, swapped the shortening for butter. It was such a moist & delicious cake. Big hit with our family. Bake & enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micri00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Not the very best banana bread recipe I've tried, but awfully good. I used 1/2 cup veg oil and 1 stick butter because I didn't have shortening. Used 2 cups of choc chips which is great if you are chocolate dependent. Would use again and probably try adding sour cream too as another reviewer suggested. Would very much recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jhawksrule

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I've made this a few times and it is WONDERFUL and MOIST. Never used shortening and used butter instead like most others. I few times I changed it up using more nuts, making half recipes, making muffins, the works. I even added peanut butter (1/3 cup) and it never disappointed . Also coated chocolate chips in flour. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
epic fail. took longer to bake than expected. outside ugly, overcooked. inside still wet. covered it so prevent it from getting too dark (fail). not sure if I can slice it and save it snacks. surely cannot present it as a whole loaf. will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malleesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I only made 1/2 the recipe and it made 5 mini loaves. I cooked them for 33 minutes. I used butter, not shortening. I added a teaspoon of Nutella and used 1/3 c semi sweet chocolate chips and 1/3c white chocolate chips. I didn't have any nuts. It was delicious & moist. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I make cookies out of this recipe and the only thing I changed was the use of butter instead of shortening and I added oatmeal to firm up the batter. Can't keep them in the house. I am forever buying bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is a great recipe!!! I used butter instead of shortening, miracle whip instead of mayonaise (didn't have mayo at home), pecans instead of walnuts, and doubled the amount of chocolate chips. It turned out perfect. I will make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Pretty good!! I didn't change anything. Very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 551) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States