Chocolate Chip Banana Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Good stuff. Made exactly as written. No need to alter. FYI, I made mini loaves and this recipe will give you six.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Amazing! Everyone who tried it, raved. Instead of shortening, I used half C. butter, half C. apple sauce. Other than that minor change, I followed the recipe to a tee. Not too long before trying this recipe, I tried a different one and this is just so much better. Hint: Most banana bread recipes call for very ripe bananas...my bananas were just ripe (yellow and reg softness) and I needed to bake the bread for a party the following day so I went for it. Bread comes out just fine even if you don't use overly rip bananas, just make sure the bananas are completely mashed to give it a good consistency. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Really easy. I didn't have shortening either, so I substituted 1 stick of butter and 1/2 cup applesauce. I also did 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of brown as someone else suggested. My husband loved it. I used pecans in just one of the loaves as I'm allergic to walnuts and not a huge fan of nuts in bread. Both loaves were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Very delicious very tasty very moist will make again, I used butter instead of shortening. Next time I will divide the batter between 3 pans; my 2 loaves raised way above the top of the pan. I will use 2 9x5 and 1 smaller pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Great banana bread! I used 1 stick of butter and 1/2 cup (cinnamon) applesauce - and added a bit of vanilla extract - but otherwise made the recipe 'as is.' Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Oh my! I have made about a billion different banana bread recipes, and I can say that this is definitely my new favorite. I used half brown and half white sugar, half margarine and half applesauce, fat free mayo, and only five bananas. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
My 7 and 15 year old daughter just baked this and it was very easy for them to follow. They were hesitant about the mayo but added it anyways. It turned out delicious. Very yummy. I'm sure they'll be baking this for Grandma and Aunties!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Love this bread! I make a few changes, but otherwise it's fantastic as written: I used butter instead of shortening, half brown sugar and half white, added 1 tsp vanilla, and added 1/2 tsp cinnamon. I've also used half milk chocolate chips one time because it was what I had in the pantry - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I made only 1/2 the recipe, and used 6 king muffins instead of a loaf pan. Substituted the shortening with butter. Followed the recipe but I added the walnut on top on the muffins just before baking them for 45 minutes. It was amazing! The muffins were very moist and the walnuts were slightly crunchy. This is a must-keep recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Delicious!!! The absolute best banana bread I have ever made. My 18 yo son agrees. I always freeze my ripe bananas. When thawed they mash so easily. Also, I instead of loaf pan I baked mine in muffin tins (makes 2 dozen plus) at 350 for 25-30 minutes. Yum Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 568) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States