Chocolate Chip Banana Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This is a wonderful starter recipe. You can make changes for your taste and it still comes out yummo! Instead of shortening, I followed the advice of other reviewers and used butter, unsalted. But I only used half a cup and substituted the other half cup with unsweetened applesauce. I used 1/2 cup splenda and 1/2 cup brown splenda in replace of sugar. I added a teaspoon of vanilla. I must say, I did add a cup of chips, but I think it was too much. Making more today and I'm going to bump the amount of chips down to 3/4 cup. I baked mine in mini loaves and a muffin pan until they were golden brown, roughly 20 minutes. Came out perfect! They didnt fall apart or crumble. Its only been 2 days and 18 servings of it are gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook Wilkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Wow - so good! I am not sure how 2 tbsp of mayo made such a difference, but it did... I substituted butter for the shortening, and added 2 tsp of cinnamon, but other than that made just as is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This is the same way I make my banana bread except I add vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg (weird to not have them in there) and butter instead of shortning and I'm really wondering if the mayo is nessisary. I would have to say I love the addition of the cocolate chips and nice hint on dusting them with flour so they don't sink to the bottom. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This bread is amazing! Absolutely delicious. I have been searching for the perfect banana bread recipe and I have finally found it. I tried a recipe with just shortening, and it came out too dense; I tried a recipe with sour cream and it came out sort of mushy; the secret with this recipe is the tiny bit of mayo and it makes all the difference in the world! I didn't change a thing in this recipe, besides cutting it in 1/3 because I only had two bananas. What a mistake! The entire loaf went so quickly among my friends and family that I was left wishing I had made the other two pans. This recipe is a definite winner and I will be using it several more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat13

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This is a keeper, I made it for several people and all loved it. I made one change, and that is I used 1 cup of brown sugar and one cup of white sugar. It is FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Sooooo good!!! Laminating this recipe! I added a little extra flour to thicken it up as someone else suggested. I also sprayed the inside of the pan then coated with sugar as someone else suggested and it added a great crunchy little crust to the outside. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This recipe was fantastic, I did add a little twist to it though, I topped it with a little bit of vanilla frosting, which gave it the perfect amount of sweetness!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HolidayFun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avondale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Absolutely amazing!!! We don't eat nuts(allergy) I didn't have chocolate chips. It was still absolutely delish. I made mini cupcake size. They are a great for my kids...(and husband) Who are devouring them. I use this website for all my meals. I had to become a member today because I wanted to thank you for such a great recipie. Definitely saved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
So good! I found this as a result of looking for the Banana Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake sold at Starbucks. This is even better. If you add an extra 1/2 cup of chocolate chips and bake for an extra 5 minutes it's phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thing2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States