Chocolate Chip Banana Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
My family LOVED this! It is so moist and the banana flavor is perfect. Like others, I substituted butter for shortening. The only other thing I changed was to use pecans instead of walnuts and to sprinkle bottom of the pan and top of the batter with cinnamon and sugar before baking. Tip-always toss chocolate chips and nuts with a little flour to prevent them for falling to the bottom. This is a knock-out recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Steubenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
So very good and moist. Will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I subbed butter for the shortening, and added a heaping spoonful of peanut butter to one loaf and a teaspoon of cinnamon to the other. So moist and rich! My family and boyfriend ask for it all the time! Greek yogurt or sour cream can also be used in place of the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Love it.... even without chopped walnuts, it taste great !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by farah H

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I made this with a friend and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Made as written except used one stick of salted butter and one of unsalted in place of shortening. This bread is PERFECT! Love it, thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This bread is absolutely delicious. I've never made banana bread before, but the chocolate chips drew my attention. I made it exactly as is with no substitutions. There is no reason to change a thing. I have never had a more delicious bread in my life! It was extremely moist, but was cooked completely within the given time frame. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I don't usually use shortening so I chose this recipe to try something different. I baked this bread exactly as the recipe called out and it was great! I found a keeper with this recipe that my family enjoyed until the last crumb. Very moist in a loaf pan and not bad as muffins ether. Loved the chocolate and nuts mixed with my very ripe bananas:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cozmik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I substituted shortening for butter and made one loaf without nuts and the other with chopped pecans instead of walnuts. Everyone loved both! The cakes were nice and moist and had tons of banana flavor, unlike so many recipes which I feel lack the flavor of banana. Next time I will also try doing a loaf with more nuts and no chocolate chips for a more traditional bread. Overall great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Did not cook well at all. The pan was too small and overflowed everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 569) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States