Chocolate Chip Banana Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Everyone loved it ONCE I used 1 Cup Mini Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips. Otherwise it was too much chocolate and no banana taste. I also did not have a tube pan so I used a cake bundt pan and baked it for 50 minutes. Delicious! Love the recipe - has now become a family/friend favorite! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I cut back the sugar in this recipe by a half cup, used margerine and plain yogurt. Very simple to make with ingredients that most people have on hand. I'm making this for a gift so I won't be trying this myself, but I'll update as soon as I hear back how the reciever liked it. TIP: I tossed the chocolate chips in a the half cup of flour (recipe called for two and a half cups, I mixed in the two and left out the half to toss with the chocolate chips) and folded the floured chips into the batter. This keeps the chips from sinking to the bottom and burning. EDITED NEXT DAY: I made this again today for a get-together I'm having tonight. I did half milk chocolate, half butterscotch. Let's hope it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made this exactly as the recipe called EXCEPT I left out the chocolate chips (forgot them in the end...). It was more like Banana cake, very moist and a bit lighter than the dense banana bread that I was actually looking for BUT I liked it better than any other banana bread recipe that I've made. One thing, I cooked it FOREVER and it was still soft in the middle. My pan is a regular sized bread pan, is it too small perhaps?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
GREAT cake (much more like cake, not so much like bread) Left out butter milk, and increased the sour cream to 2/3 cup (Sooo moist!). Worked very well, and will definetly make it this way again. Oh ya, cut down Choc. Chips to about 1 cup. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I made this and used my co-workers as guinea pigs. Yes, they'll eat anything, but this was soooo good, they were bowing to me! Thanks for a great recipe! I'll be making it again and again! 5 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Amazing! The BEST banana bread I've ever had! Not only that, easy to make! My first try at bread and it was fenominal! Thanks for sharing this fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I tried several of the banana bread recipes I've seen online. This by far is the best banana bread recipe! My whole family loves it and we just made another batch today. My tweaks to this recipe is cutting the sour cream with Hellmann's mayo, adding 1/4 cup more Hershey's unsweetened cocoa, using all dark brown sugar instead of white and adding about 1/3 cup of raisins. Bake for 65-70 minutes at 350 degrees. Awesome banana bread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjsmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
WOW!!! We loved this recipe! This is a keeper for our recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Claire70
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Awesome recipe for banana bread! It's my kids new favorite now for breakfast! It's a nice change of pace instead of boring old banana bread! Chocolate chips are a nice addition to this! Very sweet! ( i did only put a cup of semi sweet chips in though and was still really sweet) Would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Westmoreland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
My HUSBAND (who never cooks) made this recipe and it ROCKED!! I love this and I love that he wants to make bread....It is fabulous. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAUSSFAMILY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States