Chocolate Chip Banana Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
Ggod recipe. My daughter thought it was strange to mix bananas and choc chips. I liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
I thought it would be interesting to try something knew to use my overripped bananas. It was a bad idea. This recipe shouldn't be called a banana bread, it should be called a chipit cake. It doesn't taste like banana and it is too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
All of my chocolate chips fell to the bottom of the pan. It was a mess and, needless to say, didn't taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
This banana bread was more of a cake. It did not "brown" on top and it looked very strange. I actually "broiled" the cake for a few minutes to give is some brown color. Increasing the baking soda to 1 tsp may solve the problem. I also baked the cake for about 50-55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I have to agree with other reviewers, this is more a cake than banana bread. However, my husband took one to work and his students loved it. It was very moist. I however, don't know how other reviewers could say it didn't taste like bananas. I don't like the taste of bananas and tried to eat a piece, that was all I could taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
GREAT cake (much more like cake, not so much like bread) Left out butter milk, and increased the sour cream to 2/3 cup (Sooo moist!). Worked very well, and will definetly make it this way again. Oh ya, cut down Choc. Chips to about 1 cup. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Amazing! The BEST banana bread I've ever had! Not only that, easy to make! My first try at bread and it was fenominal! Thanks for sharing this fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Everyone loved it ONCE I used 1 Cup Mini Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips. Otherwise it was too much chocolate and no banana taste. I also did not have a tube pan so I used a cake bundt pan and baked it for 50 minutes. Delicious! Love the recipe - has now become a family/friend favorite! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Was good---liked the addition of sour cr./buttermilk in addition to choc. chips. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I have been making this recipe for YEARS and it is finished in a day. I think that its true, that the bananas should be ripe but not too ripe. Also, I sprinkle sugar in the raw on top or maple sugar and it is even more amazing! Our favorite banana bread/ cake/ whatever recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States