Chocolate Chip Banana Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
First I mixed all the wet ingredients in a stand mixer including dumping the bananas in whole. The mixer mashed them up fine. I used 2/3 c. sour cream and 1/3 c. buttermilk powder (found in the baking aisle) and 1/2 of a 12 ounce package of semisweet chips. I baked in a 10 inch tube pan for 50 minutes. It was baked through, crusty on top and delicious! The banana taste does come through but is not dominant. I think the strength of banana taste depends on ripe your bananas are. Mine were pretty black and nasty. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Tried a few other recipes trying to imitate Max Brenner's for my mom's birthday. This recipe had the best results. I used two throw-away alum. 8 x 4 pans; the loaves needed closer to an hour to reach "golden."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Really Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I made this and used my co-workers as guinea pigs. Yes, they'll eat anything, but this was soooo good, they were bowing to me! Thanks for a great recipe! I'll be making it again and again! 5 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made this exactly as the recipe called EXCEPT I left out the chocolate chips (forgot them in the end...). It was more like Banana cake, very moist and a bit lighter than the dense banana bread that I was actually looking for BUT I liked it better than any other banana bread recipe that I've made. One thing, I cooked it FOREVER and it was still soft in the middle. My pan is a regular sized bread pan, is it too small perhaps?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I cut back the sugar in this recipe by a half cup, used margerine and plain yogurt. Very simple to make with ingredients that most people have on hand. I'm making this for a gift so I won't be trying this myself, but I'll update as soon as I hear back how the reciever liked it. TIP: I tossed the chocolate chips in a the half cup of flour (recipe called for two and a half cups, I mixed in the two and left out the half to toss with the chocolate chips) and folded the floured chips into the batter. This keeps the chips from sinking to the bottom and burning. EDITED NEXT DAY: I made this again today for a get-together I'm having tonight. I did half milk chocolate, half butterscotch. Let's hope it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
My HUSBAND (who never cooks) made this recipe and it ROCKED!! I love this and I love that he wants to make bread....It is fabulous. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAUSSFAMILY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Claire70
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Awesome recipe for banana bread! It's my kids new favorite now for breakfast! It's a nice change of pace instead of boring old banana bread! Chocolate chips are a nice addition to this! Very sweet! ( i did only put a cup of semi sweet chips in though and was still really sweet) Would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Westmoreland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
WOW!!! We loved this recipe! This is a keeper for our recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I tried several of the banana bread recipes I've seen online. This by far is the best banana bread recipe! My whole family loves it and we just made another batch today. My tweaks to this recipe is cutting the sour cream with Hellmann's mayo, adding 1/4 cup more Hershey's unsweetened cocoa, using all dark brown sugar instead of white and adding about 1/3 cup of raisins. Bake for 65-70 minutes at 350 degrees. Awesome banana bread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjsmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States