Chocolate Chip Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
My family REALLY liked this recipe! We have made it several times but usually add a frosting. Our favorite frosting is to take another cup or so of the choclate chips, add about a tablespoon of crisco, heat to melting point in microwave, stir well .... then drizzle over the top and sides of the cake. PS: when adding the chips to the cake (not the frosting) you MAY want to add them AFTER you have poured the batter into the pan. Basically just sprinkle them on top and stir them only slightly into the batter. This way they may not settle as much toward the bottom. To me this cake tastes even better after it has been around for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
This recipe is one my family has used for over 30 years. My little sister won a blue ribbon at our county fair with it. I'll will note here that the nutmeg may be replaced with ground allspice for a nuance of flavor I prefer. As much as 1 cup of chopped nuts may be added if desired. A bundt pan may be used instead of the tube pan without making any change in time or temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This is a great-tasting cake that my family loved. The recipe is very accommodating to variations, as I discovered. You can halve proportions and bake in an 8x8 inch square pan. If you want to speed up baking time, you can bake at 350 instead of 325 and start checking the center for done-ness at around 45 minutes. You can double the amount of cocoa and also increase the apples. I used all whole-wheat flour instead of white flour. I also substituted buttermilk for half the butter, and the finished product was still extremely moist and delicious. The acidity in the buttermilk reacts with the baking soda, so the flavor will not be sour and the reaction will also lighten the cake somewhat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
very good recipe..instead of white sugar i used brown and used 4 c grated apples instead of the 2 and i cooked it in a 13x9 inch pan for 50 minutes at 325...yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
An interesting, unusual, and delicious cake that's not too difficult to make. Good for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Excellent! Even after I made it more "healthy" it was still decadent. I double the apples (I used 4 apples, finely dicing 2 and pureeing the other 2 in a food processor) and cut the butter in half. I also reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups (the apples are very sweet) and use whole wheat flour. I also reduced cooking time to 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I made this just for fun and it came out EXCELLENT! Completely random combination, but it tastes amazing! I used 1 cup of mini semi sweet chocolate chips rather than the regular - which spreads the chocolate more throughout the cake. I also dusted with a light layer of powdered sugar. I finally had a recipe to share with my grandmother rather than begging her for something new to try! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Calabash, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Loved this!!! Just a little too much nutmeg for me, but very flavorful, dense and robust. The taste just tickles your tastebuds, spicy, fruity, melty, yummy. Can you tell I liked this? Really good. Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I found this recipe really spicey - but overall super delicious. I made it for the first time on a friday night by the end of the weekend - I had made it 3 times!! By the last one, I used 1/2 a tsp of nutmeg. It was much better - you can taste the cinnamon and chocolate chips a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I loved this. The flavors work very well together and the cake is rich and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States