Chocolate Chip Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
very moist and chocolate chips make it really yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Fantastic cake. This was so very simple to make. I made it in a bunt pan. The kids helped, apples were larger than i would have chopped but they loved it. I added walnuts to mine. The kids really loved it. The chocolate with the spices really creates an unusual flavor that works perfectly. I can't wait to make this again, it would be just perfect warm with cinnamon flavored whipped cream and a cup of hot cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Everyone loved this! My husband did suggest adding more apple next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Kind of bland. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I have made this cake twice--once for a co-worker's birthday and once for my husband's. It is a delicious cake, but both times I have had a difficult time getting it out of the pan. It always breaks. The first time I let it cool for 10 minutes, the second it cooled completely. If anyone knows what I've done wrong, please let me know because the cake is great! I also agree that the chocolate chips should be added after pouring it into the pan--they sink otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
My family REALLY liked this recipe! We have made it several times but usually add a frosting. Our favorite frosting is to take another cup or so of the choclate chips, add about a tablespoon of crisco, heat to melting point in microwave, stir well .... then drizzle over the top and sides of the cake. PS: when adding the chips to the cake (not the frosting) you MAY want to add them AFTER you have poured the batter into the pan. Basically just sprinkle them on top and stir them only slightly into the batter. This way they may not settle as much toward the bottom. To me this cake tastes even better after it has been around for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
I may have done something wrong when I made this, but I found it very heavy. All the chocolate chips fell to the bottom of the cake too, which I didn't really like. It is very moist and the cake itself has a nice spice flavor, but I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
An interesting, unusual, and delicious cake that's not too difficult to make. Good for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
This recipe is one my family has used for over 30 years. My little sister won a blue ribbon at our county fair with it. I'll will note here that the nutmeg may be replaced with ground allspice for a nuance of flavor I prefer. As much as 1 cup of chopped nuts may be added if desired. A bundt pan may be used instead of the tube pan without making any change in time or temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-59 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States