Chocolate Chip Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
It was a very flavorful cake. I suggest to add more apple ( don't chop it very small)and chocolate chip.My husband loved it :)I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tustin Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I found this recipe really spicey - but overall super delicious. I made it for the first time on a friday night by the end of the weekend - I had made it 3 times!! By the last one, I used 1/2 a tsp of nutmeg. It was much better - you can taste the cinnamon and chocolate chips a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I thought this was very good and easy to make. It was especially good cold the next day. My guests really liked it! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I thought this recipe was just ok. Fine, easy to make (actually my 12 year old executed it perfectly, unassisted), but kind of bland, and I'm not sure all the flavors really went together all that well. The spices made it taste pumpkin-y; there was just too much going on. If I were to make it again, I would double the chocolate chips and the apples -- they were the best parts and both were sort of lost in there. My daughter, the cake's baker, didn't even want a whole slice of the cake; she just picked out and ate some of the apples and chocolate chips, if that tells you anything. Frankly, I was tempted to do the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Very moist. You don't have to chop apples very finely, and it's OK to reduce the sugar to 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This is a lovely, fragrant, moist cake full of delicious flavour. I used big chunks of chocolate as opposed to chips and added an extra half apple. I also added a sprinkling of ginger which worked well. I will definitley make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Penzance, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Hereford, Herefordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Moist, flavorful. Nice recipe. Just for fun I tried the cake, halving all the ingredients except the apples which I left the same. The 2 apples yielded 3+ cups diced. I baked it in an 8 x 8 inch pan for about 45 min. The result was still a moist, flavorful cake with a stronger apple presence and fewer calories per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
very good recipe..instead of white sugar i used brown and used 4 c grated apples instead of the 2 and i cooked it in a 13x9 inch pan for 50 minutes at 325...yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I brought this cake in to work today, and it was gone super fast. Everyone loved it. Super moist, with a unique blend of apples & chocolate. I used the miniature chocolate chips instead of the regular ones and that seemed to fix the sinking chocolate problem. I will definately be making this cake again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This cake did not turn out at all as I expected. It was very dense, with a consistency more like a brownie or cookie than a cake. Although I would not describe the cake as particularly flavorful, it still managed to overpower the apples. My husband who hasn't met a desert that he hasn't liked had to force himself to finish his slice, and suggested I take it to the office with me. Normally he would be finding excuses for why it should stay home. All in all I was very disappointed. If I want something like this in the future, I will probably just take my favorite chocolate bundt cake recipe and add some spices and apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States