Chocolate Chip Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by twinboys
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Would give it 5 stars but made changes. Used 1 banana and 1/2 cup oil rather than 1 cup butter. Used 1 1/2 cups sugar which was still a bit too much - would use 1 1/4 next time. Used 3 Tbsp. cocoa and 3 peeled and diced apples. I liked the look and taste of the apple chunks in the cake. It rose so high - and was very tasty!!! My boys loved it!!! Definitely in my recipe box and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Just tried a warm slice of this yummy cake. Followed the recipe and used a bundt cake pan with it turning out great. Can't wait to share with work friends tomorrow for coffee break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This is super good! I made it exact to the recipe. The only problem I had was I couldn't get it out of the bunt pan-so we ate it out of it! Guess I didn't grease enough-worth making-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This cake is awesome! My husband said it was the best cake I have ever made. Honestly, great mix of chocolate, spices and the apples make it very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Easily one of the best cakes I've ever made. Whenever I serve it, people are skeptical, but end up LOVING it! I've used milk cholcolate chips instead of semisweet, and a half teaspoon of ground nutmeg instead of a full teaspoon. Yummy and moist and a reall crowd pleaser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Moist and dense cake. I doubled the amount of chocolate chips, and increased the apples to 3 cups. Used a bundt cake pan and baked at 350 for 50 minutes. Turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
great and different recipe! love the combination of chocolate and cinnamon, and the addition of texture and sweetness from the apples was wonderful. i substituted apple pie spice for the cinnamon and nutmeg, and used a bundt pan. i think adding nuts would be something i'll try next time. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Really moist and delicious. just b/c i had one i added a banana. Also I used pureed apples b/c i didn't want it to be chunky, and since it seemed to make the batter thin enough, I didn't add the 1/2 cup water as recipe states. Since I like the chocolate flavor I added twice the cocoa powder. I used about 1.5 cups sugar, about half cup Splenda. The chips didn't sink to the bottom for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I loved this cake! BUT a couple of notes. Half of my family loved this cake, and the other half thought it was "Christmasy" and thought the apple/chocolate/spices mixture was weird. SO if you're looking for an "everyone will love it" chocolate cake, this may not be it. It'll probably be a bigger hit at a potluck or something. Also, if you add extra apples (I put 3 in), it does add extra moisture, making it slightly heavier but very moist. You may want to put half the nutmeg so it's not too overpowering. I also floured and greased the pan as best as I could, but chunks still came off when I took the cake out. But if you do what I did, stick the pieces back on it and drizzle chocolate on the top or spread chocolate icing on the top, it will make it even more delicious. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This is so easy and so good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States