Chocolate Chip-Amaretto Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
It was just okay. I wouldn't make it again. If you try it, reduce the baking time by 5 - 10 minutes. After baking for one hour, it was overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
Great cake! Watch closely for doneness - it's easy to overbake this cake. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
While I wouldn't call this a chocolate amaretto cake, it was truly a great chocolate almond cake. I thought 2T of almond flavoring might be a bit overpowering, so I used only 2t. I baked it in a tube pan for 50 minutes, and it was done to perfection. This recipe is simple, tasty, very moist and best of all verryyyy chocolatey. My family loved it. Thanks Judy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This cake is delicious, I made it for X-mas eve. and everyone loved it! I only added one Tbs. of almond extract and that seemed to have just a nice hint of flavor. It also turned out very moist. A for sure Keeper!!! Thanks Judy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Well, it is not a pound cake. It is not Amaretto - it is almond and it smells more almond than it tastes. Do watch for doneness as it says to cook about 10 minutes more than necessary i think. Might try using real Amaretto in place of the water - bet THAT would be yummy. Pretty much an ordinary cake,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Awesome! I made this for my churches cake auction and it sold for $12.00. Made it again for my sons sport banquet and added marishino cherries to the bottom of the bundt cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
the cake was ok but a little bit dry. the chocolate chips made it too "chocolatey". maybe i will add chocolate pudding next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
I have made this cake a few times and every time, people love it. I think it is the most delicious cake I've ever made and its so simple. I top the cake with a chocolate glaze which makes it even more yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Loved this recipe! I agree with Kimar that the baking time needs to be reduced by 10 min, but otherwise it was moist and delicious. The hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UsMcLachlans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Super yum! Nice and moist with great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States