Chocolate Chip Amaretto Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I'm not sure what went wrong here. I read the reviews and accordingly baked it for a shorter period of time than listed, being careful to take it out of the oven just when it was done. It was dry and crumbly. Maybe it was the cake mix I used. It was nothing like a pound cake. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This worked great for a QUICK dessert for a meeting. Did not taste like a pound cake or even like amaretto, but it worked out just fine. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Loved this recipe! I agree with Kimar that the baking time needs to be reduced by 10 min, but otherwise it was moist and delicious. The hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UsMcLachlans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Well, it is not a pound cake. It is not Amaretto - it is almond and it smells more almond than it tastes. Do watch for doneness as it says to cook about 10 minutes more than necessary i think. Might try using real Amaretto in place of the water - bet THAT would be yummy. Pretty much an ordinary cake,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Great tasting cake and super easy! While I did dust it with powdered sugar, it would've been beautiful garnished with some strawberries as well. Add a little ice cream or whipped cream and YUM! I used mini chocolate chips so that the chips wouldn't sink in the cake while baking and I probably use closer to 1 1/2 or 1 3/4 cups of chips instead of 1 cup. I didn't have enough almond extract for the full 2 tbsps., so I used amaretto to make up the difference and added more. I probably used closer to 3-4 tbsps. total of extract and amaretto. I will definitely make this cake again for it's ease, convenience, and taste! Way to go, Judy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Super yum! Nice and moist with great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This was easy and REALLY good. It does not have a pound cake texture, but I didn't care. I DID add all the almond extract and didn't find it overpowering. Actually, I wanted to make a ridiculously rich birthday cake for my husband, so I layered this cake with a butterscotch cake (also on this site) with whipped cream frosting between the layers and chocolate ganache over the top. Insanely good. I will definitely make this cake again (by itself or in combination).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Awesome! I made this for my churches cake auction and it sold for $12.00. Made it again for my sons sport banquet and added marishino cherries to the bottom of the bundt cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly. Way, way, way too much almond extract. Also, I do not understand why this is called a pound cake. It tastes and has the texture of a box cake with chocolate chips in it. I'm giving this 3 stars because you must reduce the almond extract by half or more and the recipe needs to be renamed Chocolate Chip Devil Foods Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by welldone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I need to make a cake for dh to take into work for a colleague's birthday but didn't have a lot of time to put one together. I picked this, and it was a big hit. Not one piece left! I only added one tablespoon of almond extract, as that was the end of the bottle, and I used mini chocolate chips, which I prefer in cakes. Very good! Next time I will sub in coffee for liquid, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States