Chocolate Chia Seed Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I liked this and really wasn't sure what to think at first. I followed the recipe exactly except using 1 percent milk and plain instant coffee, which worked fine. I also just mixed the honey in with the milk, but I liked that it still wasn't too sweet. After taking it from the fridge, I wasn't too happy with it at first. The chia seed texture was just so odd. The seeds were a mix of a gel and crunchy texture which did not work for me. However, I decided to stick the pudding in the vitamix to whip it up. I normally use chia seeds in smoothies with no problem. It made the pudding nice and smooth at about 30 seconds on high. Chia seeds are so good for the stomach and I have not had any indigestion, today, which I normally do. I will definitely make this again, but double it to get more than 2 servings, and definitely blend it all together again when it is done chilling in the fridge. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This is so delicious! I've made it with white sugar, sugar substitutes, and coconut sugar - and also with almond and soy milk. All work wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I loved this recipe. I did change it alittle. I used Nutella instead of the hazelnut coffee powder and Splenda plus a little vanilla instead of the brown sugar. It was fabulous. I plan to make this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is good! It felt like a science experiment while I was making it, but it's no cook, chia seeds are incredibly good for you, and the end result reminded me of tapioca pudding (but with much better flavor). I did leave the honey off because I didn't want it to be too sweet. Plus, my 10 year old daughter loved it too--I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This is awesome! I made it with light vanilla soy milk, 1 tablespoon of stevia and 1 tablespoon of agave. Soo good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Great! Kids ate it up. Used almond milk (unsweetened) and brown sugar Splenda. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I used a combo of unsweetened almond milk/organic 2%, whisked the honey into the milk as well as splashed in a little vanilla. Easy to throw together! As chia seed lovers, DD and I gobbled this up after dinner tonight. I'll definitely double or triple this nifty little treat for next time a little dessert craving arises!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This was delicious! I used Silk Light Chocolate Soy Milk in place of the milk to make is extra chocolatey and it was great! I haven't tried it with the honey yet but I intend to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
My new favorite dessert. I add 1/2 teaspoon vanilla as well. Allow the mixture to sit at room temp for an hour versus 30 mins to speed up liquid absorption (the seeds swell faster at warm temps). In addition, microwave the milk for a minute to warm it up before stirring it into the dry ingredients. It better dissolves the sugar and speeds up the absorption as well. Absolutely FABULOUS dessert. Must try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Instead of cocoa powder, I used four tablespoons of MOCAFE Mexican spiced hot chocolate mix. Then I decided not to use brown sugar. I put in a small amount of mini chocolate chips and I didn't read to drizzle the honey, but we had some wild flower raw honey so I used 2 teaspoons of that. Also instead of milk, I used coconut milk and of course a quarter cup of chia seeds. I did not use any coffee mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States