Chocolate Chia Seed Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I did this with Splenda and almond milk. No hazelnut or coffee as I can't stand either. I did add bourbon vanilla and a spoon of nutella (I know it's hazelnut but I like it). It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby Rieke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Has a great taste, I like the crunchy texture. Would consider adding even more chia seeds next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I substituted 1 Tbsp Maple syrup (the real stuff) for one of the tablespoons of brown sugar. And left out the coffee. I loved it. My kids had an issue with the texture so next time I plan to blend it in my Vitamix to see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I love this chia seed pudding! Reminds me of tapioca pudding but chocolate and with tiny little crunchies that I did not find unpleasant, too much, or distracting in any way. To me the crunchies were like little tiny bits of cookie crumbs. I used half coconut milk and half cow's milk and sweetened only with coconut sugar (very similar in taste to light brown sugar) to taste. Before serving I stir it up and added a little more milk to loosen it. I didn't think I would like it as much as I did but I really do love it! Can't wait to experiment with other flavors! Thanks Robynowitz for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This was so good! I was expecting tolerable (chia seeds after all!) but it was fabulous. I will never buy an artificial food/ flavor laden box of instant pudding again. I used the recipe as stated but added some coconut flakes - no coffee either. I used 2% milk and my batch thickened perfectly. I have a batch in the refrigerator now for tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This is so good! I was wary at first, but I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Made 4 servings. I just made this recipe and I can't wait to taste it in 2 hours or even overnight. I had to make some alterations because I was a little short on the cocoa powder. To make up the difference, I used Nutella for the remaining cocoa powder and also for the lack of hazelnut flavored instant coffee. I did use the same amount of regular instant coffee as the recipe stated. Even before it became gelatinous, I was licking the spoon. So good and the kids loved it too. Next time I would like to put it in blender after stirring and get a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This was easy to make and delicious (left out the coffee powder). I wish I had a blender to follow other reviewers. I also used 1/2 the chia seeds since we were just beginning to start using it, and didn't realize how it was going to affect the final product's structure - it was really watery. Will use the full amount next time. Made with skim milk with no issues (warmed a minute as someone else mentioned to help with the chia swell).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Though this pudding didn't taste bad, it didn't thicken up nearly as much as it should have even after an entire day and night in the fridge, and the chia seeds added an awkward texture that I didn't like. The seeds didn't get soft enough, so there were crunches here and there. I also didn't like that no vanilla is added, as I feel it gives it a fuller taste. However, I did add some chia seeds to the "Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding" recipe, also on this site, while cooking and it actually turned out very good! The chia seeds were completely soft and turned out like tapioca, the pudding was thick, and the taste wasn't compromised. This recipe here is just okay, but if you're looking to add a health boost to a yummy pudding, I recommend using the traditional cooked cornstarch pudding and just throwing in some chia seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Good - nice to have in the fridge for a quick pick me up. Will make again and experiment with some different flavor combos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States