Chocolate Chia Seed Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I made a powder of the chia seeds first with my Vitamix. Then mixed all ingredients according to directions. The "pudding" firmed up quickly with no clumps or crunch, and I even had to add more milk. Also added some melted coconut oil. Whisked it all together. It was a little bitter--don't know if that's from grinding the seeds. It took quite a bit of Stevia to make it palatable. I will try it next time without grinding the seeds and compare the taste. Also may add some coconut on top before I eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Love this recipe. Very easy and healthy. Make it with whatever milk you have on hand. I added vanilla per other reviews, thank you. Omitted the honey and reduced brown sugar to 1 tablespoon, but added about 2 teaspoon equivalent of stevia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I did this with Splenda and almond milk. No hazelnut or coffee as I can't stand either. I did add bourbon vanilla and a spoon of nutella (I know it's hazelnut but I like it). It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby Rieke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Has a great taste, I like the crunchy texture. Would consider adding even more chia seeds next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I substituted 1 Tbsp Maple syrup (the real stuff) for one of the tablespoons of brown sugar. And left out the coffee. I loved it. My kids had an issue with the texture so next time I plan to blend it in my Vitamix to see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I love this chia seed pudding! Reminds me of tapioca pudding but chocolate and with tiny little crunchies that I did not find unpleasant, too much, or distracting in any way. To me the crunchies were like little tiny bits of cookie crumbs. I used half coconut milk and half cow's milk and sweetened only with coconut sugar (very similar in taste to light brown sugar) to taste. Before serving I stir it up and added a little more milk to loosen it. I didn't think I would like it as much as I did but I really do love it! Can't wait to experiment with other flavors! Thanks Robynowitz for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This was so good! I was expecting tolerable (chia seeds after all!) but it was fabulous. I will never buy an artificial food/ flavor laden box of instant pudding again. I used the recipe as stated but added some coconut flakes - no coffee either. I used 2% milk and my batch thickened perfectly. I have a batch in the refrigerator now for tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This is so good! I was wary at first, but I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Made 4 servings. I just made this recipe and I can't wait to taste it in 2 hours or even overnight. I had to make some alterations because I was a little short on the cocoa powder. To make up the difference, I used Nutella for the remaining cocoa powder and also for the lack of hazelnut flavored instant coffee. I did use the same amount of regular instant coffee as the recipe stated. Even before it became gelatinous, I was licking the spoon. So good and the kids loved it too. Next time I would like to put it in blender after stirring and get a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This was easy to make and delicious (left out the coffee powder). I wish I had a blender to follow other reviewers. I also used 1/2 the chia seeds since we were just beginning to start using it, and didn't realize how it was going to affect the final product's structure - it was really watery. Will use the full amount next time. Made with skim milk with no issues (warmed a minute as someone else mentioned to help with the chia swell).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States