Chocolate Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
The flavor is wonderful, however I think the lower reviews could be because some cooks are unaware of proper custard/homemade pudding-type pie preparation. The ingredients should include instructions for tempering the eggs. To those who had trouble with the ingredients separating: mix together all of the ingredients except for the eggs and pecans over medium heat until sugar is melted and cocoa is incorporate. Beat the eggs in a separate bowl and while STILL beating, add about 1/2 cup slowly to the eggs to gradually increase the temperature. Then add the egg mixture back to the saucepan still stirring. Your mixture will thicken almost instantly, then you can add the pecans and pour the mixture into the pie shell. It only takes an extra minute to do this, but the results are perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillithmaximus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
The texture was WAY to gelatinous for me and I couldn't get past the second bite. Don't get me wrong, the taste was there but the texture threw me off completely. Since this recipe I have made other chess pies and discovered "flour" is the key! If you want a more cake like texture, I suggest adding a few tablespoons of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 30, 2002
This turned out perfectly for me! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Chocolately, gooey goodness! This is a very rich pie. I was doubling the recipe and mistakenly did not double the butter. It was fine without the extra butter. I also had to bake the pie an extra 10 minutes and it turned out wonderfully. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
If you can imagine a brownie as pie, then this is it. Tastes just like a brownie only better! Absolutely fantastic. My new favorite pie! I didn't even have evaporated milk and used the sweetened (thick) condensed milk instead, kept my fingers crossed the substitution would be okay, and this turned out the creamiest, richest chocolatiest pie ever. I didn't use an electric mixer, just a wooden spoon. I paired this with french pastry pie crust and it is fabulous. 5 plus stars!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
This is so good it deserves a homemade pie crust. I used the one submitted by Leah Lyons in her "Sweet Pie" recipe. I also recommend serving the chess pie with cream or ice cream to balance the rich, dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
I chose this recpie over the other chocolate chess pies because it called for the most cocoa. The only way I deviated from the instructions was that I left out the nuts. I followed everything else to a T, and the ingredients separated--not sure if while cooking or cooling, because I didn't notice until we cut into it. The sugar and chocolate were on top, and the eggs and evaporated milk were a translucent layer at the bottom. Was looking forward to a great reminder of my southern childhood, but I did not care for this. On Valentine's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
It is not the mixing. It is the baking. For those who have had trouble...bake at 350 for 40-50 min. The hot temp decreasing to a lesser temp is what is making the problems for some. I have had this same recipe for years and have never had any trouble. When I baked it according to these directions it did not turn out as moist and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
It tasted great but was very rich!!! There was a little too much filling for the pie crust (made an awful mess inthe oven.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I made this pie for Christmas and everyone said this was what I was bringing next year as well! So easy but I did make a few changes...I made two 9" deep dish pies by multiplying the recipe by 1.5; the computer will do this for you by changing the number of servings. Not everyone in my family likes pecans so I dumped about 3/4 of a cup of pecans in the bottom of one of the pie shells before dumping the filling in. I also dumped 1/3 cup of semisweet and 1/3 cup of milk chocolate morsels in each of the pie shells before I added the filling. This pie is smooth and creamy and extremely rich. Perfect for the chocolate lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States