Chocolate Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I went dirrectly as the recipe called for and cooked it as directed. It didn't cook all the way , it cooked around the edges but the middle was very runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Flavor is good, but consistently is too gooey, even with 10 extra minutes in the oven. I grew up in the South, and it's not supposed to be like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORINALAND

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Perfect, only difference was special dark cocoa used. Recieved rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
DEE-lish!!! I added a 1/2 cup of shredded coconut to mine - was wonderful!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Really easy and really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Talbot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
It is not the mixing. It is the baking. For those who have had trouble...bake at 350 for 40-50 min. The hot temp decreasing to a lesser temp is what is making the problems for some. I have had this same recipe for years and have never had any trouble. When I baked it according to these directions it did not turn out as moist and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
THIS RECIPE WAS SO EASY TO MAKE AND EVERYONE RAVED ABOUT IT. THE ONLY THING WAS, MOST CHESS PIES HAVE CORNMEAL IN THEM THAT GIVES THE GRITTY TEXTURE. THIS DID NOT CALL FOR ANY SO IT MADE UP MORE LIKE A CHOCOLATE PECAN PIE. NO WORRIES THOUGH BECAUSE IT WAS STILL DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This was the first Chocolate Chess Pie I had ever tried making! I live in the south and I was entertaining my "southern" husband and his family ( all women ) I was so nervous to try a new recipe let alone serve it to southern women. It was so easy to make, came out perfect and everyone raved about it. One of the compliments was, "This is the best chess pie I have ever eaten!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This pie is awesome! It is very close to one that my Grandmother use to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This pie was awesome! Made it exactly as stated, and it turned out great. Had to cook it a little longer than stated, but when it was done, it was just like pecan pie, only chocolate flavored. Served it with a scoop of ice cream, and my whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States