Chocolate Chess Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I make these pies all the time. Use a REGULAR sized pie crust. There is not enough filling to cover two deep dish crusts. You must use REAL butter, not margarine. Make sure you follow the directions as printed. Once the batter is mixed, pour into the two crusts very fast. The batter separates very quickly due to the 4 eggs and large amount of butter. Cook the pies a little longer than recommended to make sure the center is cooked. When you cut into the cooled pie, you should see two layers. The chocolate layer on top and the custard layer that settles to the bottom. I had to make this recipe several times to perfect it, but I get raves everytime I make it! Be patient and measure carefully when you bake. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy Hodnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
made this pie recently and was very disappointed. it did not bake up like a chess pie. personally i feel that there is too much butter in this pie. also if using deep dish pie shells you have to double the recipe and cook for 45-50 minutes. it was ok as far as taste goes but not a pie i will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Really good chocolate pie, but my Grandma always added 2 tbs of cornmeal to hers. Also this recipe didn't make enough for two pies I had to double the recipe. Other than that really good pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkieSue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hackett, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Cassville, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
You can also take the unbaked pie crusts and place into a small casserole dish to be able to cut the pie into easy-to-serve squares! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
My 14 year old daughter made this for her end of the school year party. Everyone loved it & it was very easy for her to make all by herself!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This recipe was very simple to make and it was also very delicious, however the texture wasn't so great it was a little stiff in a way can't really explain it but it wasn't as moist as I'd like and I also had to cook it about 10 minutes longer than the recipe calls for. But my family and I still enjoyed every bite of each pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I went out of town recently and for a family gathering I decided to make two of these chocolate chess pies. They won absolutely RAVE reviews and several people commented they were the BEST chocolate pies that they had ever eaten. I was impressed!!! I made a couple changes to the original recipe. First, I doubled the recipe and made only two 8" DEEP DISH pies from the doubled recipe, filling the unbaked crusts to the very top rim. Second I baked the two pies for 12 minutes longer than the original recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
This recipie made the best pie I have ever had! It was so simple! After I baked it I was a little unsure by the way it looked, but it was awsome!!! I cant wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
This pie was as easy to prepare as promised, but the texture after baking was disappointing. Luckily, my husband is a huge fan of chocolate pie in general, so it wasn't a total bust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States