Chocolate Chess Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
OMG!!! This pie is so-o-o good!! I love chocolate!!! I cut the sugar to 1 cup, increased the cocoa to 5 Tablespoons. and added 3/4 cup of pecans!! I also put strips of aluminum foil around the edges of the crust to keep them from getting brown too quick. I baked it for 1 hour at 325 degrees. No offense to anyone, but some of the expert cooks said they could not get the pie to set! I followed the directions of another poster and it turned out perfect...no problem setting!! This is what 'Lillithmaxium' said on Dec. 20, 2009: (The flavor is wonderful, however I think the lower reviews could be because some cooks are unaware of proper custard/homemade pudding-type pie preparation. The ingredients should include instructions for tempering the eggs). I did exactly as Lillithmaxium instructed, and no problem setting! Mix all ingredients (EXCEPT the eggs and pecans) and stir over medium heat until the chocolate is blended. In a separate bowl stir the eggs, while stirring the eggs, slowly add 1/2 cup of the hot pie mixture to the eggs to gradually even the egg temperature. Now pour the egg mixture into the remaining pie mixture, continue to stir, It starts getting thicker almost immediately. Add the pecans, then pour into the pie shell. I used deep dish. Let the pie set to cool for about 1 hour before cutting. I hope I explained this where it made sense. I hope some of the other cooks will try this wonderful pie again...it's really simple and sets perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by panamabev

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Eww, eww, eww. I had such high hopes for this pie. I followed the recipe exactly & it was inedible. The pie filling was so greasy & the pie would not set. You can even see the greasiness in the photos! Sad. If I attempt to make this again I will omit the 1/4c of melted butter. Just remembering my first bite makes me shudder. I feel a little out of place because everyone just raved about this pie in the reviews. I never leave baaad reviews, but I just needed to say something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I make this pie on thanksgiving this recipe is pretty good;however, the recipe called for too much sugar and less coco. Next time I will add less sugar and more coco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catherine
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Classic, simple ingredients, easy, scrumptious. Never had I wanted vanilla ice cream more than last night to have with my warm chocolate pie..It took me 10 minutes to whip together and 50 agonizing minutes of waiting for it to finish cooking. I actually did 3 heaping tablespoons of cocoa to intensify the chocolate flavor and boy was it good; also used a regular, not deep dish pre-made pie crust but next time think I will try doubling the recipe for a deep dish crust for a thicker pie or even using mini/individual pie crusts for parties. 50 minutes was perfect cooking time, just so you know, the pie will still have a slight jiggle to it as it comes out of the oven but don't worry it sets up even more when cooling. I'm guessing because of the butter, the bottom crust was almost caramelized, a nice contrast from the creaminess of the filling; even the top had a thin layer of crunch. The pie is sweet so be prepared..ice cream or whipped cream would definitely cut the sweetness and be a perfect compliment to this dessert. I loved this and can't wait to make it for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I have been making this exact recipe for years. Here is a great tip my grandmother taught me: First mix the sugar and cocoa together very well first. Second, don't melt your butter completely. That is why some are coming up with runny pies. The butter needs to still have some "chunkyness" to it. Hope this helps! Mine comes out great most of the time, although sometimes it cracks. I ususally bake it between 40 and 45 minutes. And then like others suggested leave it in the oven with temperature off for 10-15 minutes with door cracked. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinrueff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dyersburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This is a classic Southern, old fashioned dessert. The key, in my opinion, is to mix it long enough (at least 5 minutes). I just let my Kitchen Aid do the mixing while I prep the crust. I also bake a little longer, 50-55 minutes. And, finally, after it's completely cooled, I put it in the fridge to chill. My boys love this pie, and my husband thinks I could sell it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Very good. Reminiscent of a wonderful chocolate chess pie I used to get at a bakery in Graham, North Carolina. Very rich and nice for the Holidays in place of cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I have been playing around with the recipe (after the first attempt was not so great) and found that it is better with 2 tablespoons of butter, 1/2 cup of cocoa powder, and 1 cup of sugar. Also, bake at 350 for 1 hr 15 min on the bottom rack, and let cool a few hours before cutting. This pie is sooo easy and delicious with the recipe modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Made it for the first time Thanksgiving 2006 and it was a hit! Was told I must make this every year. It was so easy to make. I found it a little too sweet so I cut back on the sugar by about a half a cup. It just made the chocolate flavor pop. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
To DIE FOR. let Cool COMPLETELY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States