Chocolate Chess Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Does not set. I have tried this recipe multiple times and it fails me every time. Center remains liquid even after cooking an extra 20 minutes and letting it cool completely. There are not enough eggs for the fat & milk. And it is very, very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catherine
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Classic, simple ingredients, easy, scrumptious. Never had I wanted vanilla ice cream more than last night to have with my warm chocolate pie..It took me 10 minutes to whip together and 50 agonizing minutes of waiting for it to finish cooking. I actually did 3 heaping tablespoons of cocoa to intensify the chocolate flavor and boy was it good; also used a regular, not deep dish pre-made pie crust but next time think I will try doubling the recipe for a deep dish crust for a thicker pie or even using mini/individual pie crusts for parties. 50 minutes was perfect cooking time, just so you know, the pie will still have a slight jiggle to it as it comes out of the oven but don't worry it sets up even more when cooling. I'm guessing because of the butter, the bottom crust was almost caramelized, a nice contrast from the creaminess of the filling; even the top had a thin layer of crunch. The pie is sweet so be prepared..ice cream or whipped cream would definitely cut the sweetness and be a perfect compliment to this dessert. I loved this and can't wait to make it for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I have been looking for this recipe after I had this pie at our favorite buffet style resturant. This is so very good and chocolately! I baked it for 50 mins and the center was still jiggly. The trick to this pie is to let it cool COMPLETELY! It will set after it cools down. It is very good.. This will be a staple on my menu from now on! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANEA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Park, Georgia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Great and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Very good pie! I doubled the recipe and made two pies. Very quick and easy to make. Followed the recipe exactly and turned out great. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
EXCELLENT! I am from North Carolina and this pie is a staple at almost every church and family gathering. This is the same recipe my Family has been making for several generations. Southerner's love their desserts sweet.. and this recipe is a classic example of that. Classic Chess pie is a soft-set pie. Very smooth, rich and SWEET. For those that prefer a "firmer" pie you can find recipes that call for a touch of flour. I love this pie - it is my absolute favorite and this recipe in my opinion is spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I only used 1 cup of sugar for 4 tbsp of cocoa... delicious and perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnneClaude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I have been making this pie for 15 years but my recipe calls for 1/8 teaspoon of salt. The SECRET for this pie is to cook it at 325 degrees for 1 hour and I use metal pie crust protector . I put it on the pie after 45 minutes to keep my crust from burning. This pie is so smooth and so decadent. it is my fave and you cannot have it without a big scoop of whip cream/cool whip. YUMMY !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aspen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I made this pie for a friend of mine who has diabetes, therefore I substituted half the sugar for Splenda. And it still came out perfectly. She said it was wonderful, and keeps asking for a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Sheer perfection! Baked this to take to sick friend and doubled recipe to keep one for my family. Texture and taste wonderful. Even the baking time of 45 minutes was perfect. This is my favorite chess pie recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise
Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States