Chocolate Chess Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Outstanding! The flavor is unbelievable! Very choclatety and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Holy chocolate! It's good! I've made it according to the recipe, and also made it with water and buttermilk powder in place of evaporated milk and margarine in place of butter. It's great with the "Best Ever Pie Crust"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
My family always makes chocolate chess pies during the holidays and I couldn't get my mom's recipe the day I needed it, so I decided to try this one out. It turned out perfectly, just like my mom's. Everyone complimented and I will be making it again soon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurenmackenzie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was delicious! Tasted a lot like a flourless chocolate cake or an undercooked brownie - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This pie was really yummy! althoguh, in my excitement of making a chocolate pie from scratch I misread the chocolate ingredient part, and instead of 3 Tablespoons of cocoa powder, I put a whole lot more. Like 1/3 cup of cocoa powder. Thank God, I love chocolate! It made a very rich chocolate chess pie. And my son says it's Goooooooooood! And yeppers I'm with him on that one. Thank you for the recipe. Definately this one goes into my keepers recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Does not set. I have tried this recipe multiple times and it fails me every time. Center remains liquid even after cooking an extra 20 minutes and letting it cool completely. There are not enough eggs for the fat & milk. And it is very, very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catherine
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Classic, simple ingredients, easy, scrumptious. Never had I wanted vanilla ice cream more than last night to have with my warm chocolate pie..It took me 10 minutes to whip together and 50 agonizing minutes of waiting for it to finish cooking. I actually did 3 heaping tablespoons of cocoa to intensify the chocolate flavor and boy was it good; also used a regular, not deep dish pre-made pie crust but next time think I will try doubling the recipe for a deep dish crust for a thicker pie or even using mini/individual pie crusts for parties. 50 minutes was perfect cooking time, just so you know, the pie will still have a slight jiggle to it as it comes out of the oven but don't worry it sets up even more when cooling. I'm guessing because of the butter, the bottom crust was almost caramelized, a nice contrast from the creaminess of the filling; even the top had a thin layer of crunch. The pie is sweet so be prepared..ice cream or whipped cream would definitely cut the sweetness and be a perfect compliment to this dessert. I loved this and can't wait to make it for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I have been looking for this recipe after I had this pie at our favorite buffet style resturant. This is so very good and chocolately! I baked it for 50 mins and the center was still jiggly. The trick to this pie is to let it cool COMPLETELY! It will set after it cools down. It is very good.. This will be a staple on my menu from now on! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janea Perry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Park, Georgia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Great and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Very good pie! I doubled the recipe and made two pies. Very quick and easy to make. Followed the recipe exactly and turned out great. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States