Chocolate Chess Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Wonderful, easy, quick and DELICIOUS!! My 11 yo daughter loves to bake this pie. It's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Excellent Pie!! Very easy and was wonerful with a scoop of vanilla ice cream :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Graham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This was absolutely wonderful! Everyone in my family loved it. i did the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Super yummy! I reduced the sugar to 1 cup, and increased the cocoa powder to about 12 tbsp or 50g (I know, it sounds crazy, but it was REALLY good) Very easy recipe to follow, and everyone thought it was great! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I have been playing around with the recipe (after the first attempt was not so great) and found that it is better with 2 tablespoons of butter, 1/2 cup of cocoa powder, and 1 cup of sugar. Also, bake at 350 for 1 hr 15 min on the bottom rack, and let cool a few hours before cutting. This pie is sooo easy and delicious with the recipe modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Mmmm...delicious. I made this as a way to use up half a can of evaporated milk I had leftover from making the Honey Wheat Bread (also on this site)! It was super-simple and surprisingly sophisticated. I made a bunch of changes that I think helped a lot: -Cut sugar to 3/4 cup. -Used about 5 tablespoons of cocoa. -Used 3 eggs. -Substituted applesauce for butter (healthy, and you can't even tell)! -Added a few shakes of all-purpose flour to make sure it'd set (some of the previous comments scared me). -Added a handful of chocolate chips - love that melted and re-solidified flavor. -Didn't use a pie crust - that's right, I put it in a casserole dish (didn't want the extra pie crust calories) and it tasted great!. Next time, I'll make these in individual ramekins for a dinner party. They're SO easy. Even my husband, who is not a big chocolate person, raved about this - it tastes like a flourless chocolate cake or a chocolate mousse with some flour added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Like several others, the pie did not set. Cooked it exactly as the recipe said. "Solid" on top, pudding in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lamboid Suture

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I absolutely love this pie. It is almost too good - I can’t stop eating it. Delicious. Wonderfully unique deep rich chocolate flavor. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I went ahead and tried this... at 45 minutes, you have a top crust, but underneath is just tasty chocolate syrup that does NOT set even after cooling. This recipe needs: a) about 30 more minutes OR b) 2 more eggs OR c) about 1/4 cup flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Fewx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I added a bit of cornstarch and that seemed to do the trick of getting it to set, plus letting it cool in the fridge. But such long cooking time burnt my pie crust a bit :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bridge47

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States