Chocolate Chess Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This was an excellent pie. The only thing I would do different in the future is cut down a bit on the sugar. I have a major sweet tooth, but this was just a tad over the top for me... still, it was delicious! Also, I had to cook it about 10 minutes longer than the recipe stated. The middle was still quite "jiggly" after 45 minutes - 10 extra and it was perfect. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I'm not a chess pie fan, but this was pretty good. My husband is a Mississippi boy and he loved it. Very simple to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This is is good! It's very sweet and rich...great with a scoop of ice cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Very good pie. Reminds me of my moms recipe. The top of this pie always cracks when I cut it though... I think I will stir with a spoon next time to produce less air in the batter and bake closer to the bottom of the oven. Cracked top or not... my guests always reach for seconds of this classic southern dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Absolutely delicious! So simple and pretty, with a crispy little crust on it. I also used 3 heaping Tbls. of cocoa and served it with whipped cream. This is the nicest slicing pie I have ever made also...the knife went right through it neatly and didn't gum up on the blade. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was ok. I'll keep looking for a chocolate pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Professional MOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I followed the recipe precisely and the pie turned out excellent. As the recipe states, cook for 45 minutes or until set. Mine set at about 35, so keep an eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I also did 3 heaping tablespoons of cocoa and baked for 50 minutes. It was perfect! To die for!!! I will definitely make again... SOON!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haylee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
The taste was great, but I put it in the oven for 10 minutes longer than it said and it still didn't solidify. It was like chocolate sauce. Update: I refrigerated it overnight and it was much better...not nearly as runny. I topped it with whipped cream (also from this site) and the combination was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNN16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States