Chocolate Chess Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I had a little trouble getting it to set. Next time I am going to do as one review I read suggested and heat the mixture, except the eggs. Then stir half a cup of hot mixture into the eggs as you are beating them, then add back in to the pie mixture. I am also going to try placing strips of aluminum foil around the edges of the crust and go with a deep dish crust. Delicious flavor! The gooeyness doesn't actually bother me, but I think the rest of the family would prefer it to be more set in the middle. I also decrease the oven temp by 25 degrees after about 10 minutes and add about 5 min to total cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Delicious! I had some left over evaporated milk I needed to use and this was a perfect fit. I loved how it caramelizes/crystallizes on the surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Love it! Not sure how everyone else gets the top of the pie to be dark brown... I've made this twice, and each time the top of the pie comes out a tan color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
VERY EASY TO BAKE....and VERY TASTY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This is a classic Southern, old fashioned dessert. The key, in my opinion, is to mix it long enough (at least 5 minutes). I just let my Kitchen Aid do the mixing while I prep the crust. I also bake a little longer, 50-55 minutes. And, finally, after it's completely cooled, I put it in the fridge to chill. My boys love this pie, and my husband thinks I could sell it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This was an excellent pie. The only thing I would do different in the future is cut down a bit on the sugar. I have a major sweet tooth, but this was just a tad over the top for me... still, it was delicious! Also, I had to cook it about 10 minutes longer than the recipe stated. The middle was still quite "jiggly" after 45 minutes - 10 extra and it was perfect. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I'm not a chess pie fan, but this was pretty good. My husband is a Mississippi boy and he loved it. Very simple to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This is is good! It's very sweet and rich...great with a scoop of ice cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Very good pie. Reminds me of my moms recipe. The top of this pie always cracks when I cut it though... I think I will stir with a spoon next time to produce less air in the batter and bake closer to the bottom of the oven. Cracked top or not... my guests always reach for seconds of this classic southern dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States