Chocolate Chess Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This was so good; I used 1 cup sugar and 3 heaping tablespoons cocoa; served warm with vanilla ice cream. Almost like brownie pie. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I never heard of this pie until I had it at a restaurant it was great, I tried for months to replicate it with several other recipes and this one came the closest.. Hummmm good!!! I wonder how it got its name or what "chess" is in reference to?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I didn't want to take the time to find my Granny's chocolate chess pie recipe, so I pulled this one up and I thought it was equally delicious! Shhhhh! Don't tell granny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Henderson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Delicious pie! I had this pie from a local restaurant recently and have been craving it ever since and had to make it myself. I followed the recipe exactly the first time and it's too sweet for me so I'll reduce the sugar next time. I used a deep dish pie shell and the filling rose during baking and filled it to the top. I had to bake mine an extra 10 minutes for it to be set. There's no need to cook this mixture on the stove top first to get it to thicken and set. It sets in the oven and if still jiggly you need to cook it longer. Each oven is different and mine needed 10 additional minutes. Great recipe that couldn't be easier with ingredients I always have on hand. It tastes like an under cooked brownie and is terrific with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This turned out great and didn't last long! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Rothbauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Albany, Indiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I tried this recipe tonight, and I admit to worrying about the amount of butter due to a one-star review. I added the amount of butter indicated in the recipe, and although I added one extra Tbsp of cocoa due to my son's preference for very dark chocolate flavor, I followed the rest of the recipe to a T and the pie came out PERFECT. It's not oily or greasy so I'm not sure what happened with the other reviewer's pie. It is important to beat the egg into the sugar and cocoa mixture separately from the other wet ingredients, and as another reviewer said, it should be mixed for awhile (longer than we're used to), so maybe that had something to do with it. The top of this pie was crispy and the middle was gooey, just like it was supposed to be. It could not have been an easier recipe and it could not have come out any better. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is soo good, my family loves it! Its gone within the day its made. Recipe is simple and way too easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Turned out so good! The top is slightly crusty/chewy (like a brownie) with a softer inside. This pie is what I hoped every lava cake would be. Adjustments/Notes: I used an organic whole grain pie crust and it cuts down the sweet just right. Like other reviewers, used only 1 c. white sugar and 5 tbs. of cocoa. Mixed the sugar, cocoa, butter, milk and vanilla over stove and then tempered the eggs. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
we made this pie because we were looking for something similar to Golden Corral's mini chess tarts. it was a great pie! we spread a thin layer of Nutella on the bottom of the pie crust, also, but that was the only change we made to the recipie. well, also we had to bake it for an hour and a half for it to rise and thicken! i would use a little less sugar and more cocoa in the future, or maybe a bit of flour, but not because of the flavor, because the texture was a little unpleasantly gritty...but it TASTES wonderful! not sure why we had to cook it for so long...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack Paradox

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I loved it! It turned out exactly how I was expecting it to. Make sure to add some fork holes to the bottom of your crust. Also, I had bake a little extra, maybe ten minutes. Still... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States