Chocolate Chess Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Fantastic! So easy and very simple to make. Like many others, I cut the sugar to 1 cup, and added 2 extra tablespoons of cocoa powder, and I didn't completely melt the butter (thanks to one reviewer who had some experience with Chess Pie. This was a hit and I know I'll make it again and again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Brooks Fernandez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clevedon, Somerset, England, U.K.
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I was rather hesitant about the filling because it was extremely runny (I followed the recipe to a "T"). However, I added an entire small bag (7oz I think) of shredded coconut to the filling. I used aluminum foil to cover the pie crust to prevent it from burning, and it turned out fantastic! It tastes like a Mounds candy bar. Absolutely DELICIOUS! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This recipe doesn't work. I followed the directions and the pie never set. Time to throw it in the ice cream maker and hope it tastes good as ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I made the pie the same way the "most helpful positive review" suggested - cutting back sugar to 1 cup and increasing cocoa to 5 tbs. I followed all the other directions as stated in the recipe, and it was REALLY great! It was a hit at our family's Memorial Day cookout. I let it chill in the fridge after baking to make sure the texture was correct. Delicious, and one I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LissaBee
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This was so good; I used 1 cup sugar and 3 heaping tablespoons cocoa; served warm with vanilla ice cream. Almost like brownie pie. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I never heard of this pie until I had it at a restaurant it was great, I tried for months to replicate it with several other recipes and this one came the closest.. Hummmm good!!! I wonder how it got its name or what "chess" is in reference to?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I didn't want to take the time to find my Granny's chocolate chess pie recipe, so I pulled this one up and I thought it was equally delicious! Shhhhh! Don't tell granny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Henderson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Delicious pie! I had this pie from a local restaurant recently and have been craving it ever since and had to make it myself. I followed the recipe exactly the first time and it's too sweet for me so I'll reduce the sugar next time. I used a deep dish pie shell and the filling rose during baking and filled it to the top. I had to bake mine an extra 10 minutes for it to be set. There's no need to cook this mixture on the stove top first to get it to thicken and set. It sets in the oven and if still jiggly you need to cook it longer. Each oven is different and mine needed 10 additional minutes. Great recipe that couldn't be easier with ingredients I always have on hand. It tastes like an under cooked brownie and is terrific with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This turned out great and didn't last long! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Rothbauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Albany, Indiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I tried this recipe tonight, and I admit to worrying about the amount of butter due to a one-star review. I added the amount of butter indicated in the recipe, and although I added one extra Tbsp of cocoa due to my son's preference for very dark chocolate flavor, I followed the rest of the recipe to a T and the pie came out PERFECT. It's not oily or greasy so I'm not sure what happened with the other reviewer's pie. It is important to beat the egg into the sugar and cocoa mixture separately from the other wet ingredients, and as another reviewer said, it should be mixed for awhile (longer than we're used to), so maybe that had something to do with it. The top of this pie was crispy and the middle was gooey, just like it was supposed to be. It could not have been an easier recipe and it could not have come out any better. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States