Chocolate Chess Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This was sooo good! You have to really love chocolate though, and I do! The top has a thin crispy layer. I'll be making it again for the holidays. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Oh WOW. This was SO delicious! I knew as soon as I poured the mixture into the pie shell that it would be. It is rich and perfectly chocolatey. I made this for my future mother-in-law to thank her for buying us our beautiful new condo. She said it was absolute perfection and hopes I'll make another one very soon. It's so easy I might just make another one tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Flour is the key, people! If the texture is too gelatinous for you (like it was for me), add a few tablespoons of flour. It took me 4 times to discover this. I am sure a young child may like this the way it is but for a more sophisticated pallet, I suggest using flour to get a more cake-like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I enjoyed this simple recipe. It works best after it has chilled in the refrigerator for a while, then cut and serve with whipped cream. Also, you may want to put foil around the edges of the pie crust so it doesn't get too brown. I will definately make this again, especially since I usually have all the ingredients on hand. --no need to use electric hand mixer, just whisk all together.--
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I made this just like the recipe suggested and it never set! I was disappointed since I was so anxious to try it. I even cooked it longer and it still did not set. Now the taste of this pie was awesome!!!! So, the taste portion of this gets 5 stars. I will maybe add some kind of thickener and play with it some more. I am determined to get this pie to come out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chorn74

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I've made this pie on two different occasions. The first time I made it exactly like the recipe called for, but my family stated it was entirely too sweet. The second time I made it with only 1 cup of sugar instead of 1 1/2 and it was perfect! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This is so good.. If you're worried about lumps then sieve the chocolate mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I love this pie! It is the best chocolate pie I have ever tasted and is good with whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Regular chess pie is so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
My husband was wanting a chocolate pie just like his aunt used to make, and I had been looking for just the right recipe for a long time. This one is it - and it's so easy to make! We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States