Chocolate Chess Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This was easy to make and very good. I will make another tomorrow to give away--so I won't eat it myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LibertyBelle78
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I took the advice of most reviewers and added extra cocoa, but followed everything else. It was a *huge* hit with the family. I was informed that this was going to replace birthday cake at future parties. Simple vintage recipes are often the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Turned out with a terrible consistency and butter grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This is wonderful. We couldn't wait for it to cool all the way lol. It tastes like a brownie not set all the way. I followed Panama bee's suggestions and reduced sugar to 1 cup but left the cocoa to 3 tbl. And added pecans. Definitely added this to my personal cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I read a lot of the feedback and tried to make it according to what I read. So I only used one cup of sugar per pie and three heaping tablespoons of cocoa per pie. I added one can of evaporated milk per pie and realized later they were 12 oz cans not 5 oz. The pies were already nearly done by the time I figured it out so it was too late to do anything about it. They turned out AWESOME! Set up really nice, tasted wonderful! They turned out good enough that I think I will make it the same way next time. I'm actually wondering if some of the folks who have had issues with it not setting would be better served adding more evap milk?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
After seeing 1 and 1/2 cups of sugar, I knew it would be too sweet, so I read many of the helpful reviews and came up with the following modifications: 3/4 cup sugar, 4 tablespoons cocoa, 2 tablespoons of butter partially melted, 1 teaspoon corn starch. I baked the pie for about 45 minutes at 350, then reduced the heat to about 325 and watched it for 10-15 minutes. I checked for doneness with a toothpick, and when the toothpick came out only buttery, i knew it had set enough. I then let it cool completely and refrigerated it for a few hours. It set just right for us and was pretty tasty. It smells heavenly, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I made this with 1/2 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup Splenda, 1/4 cup cocoa, and unsweetened almond milk (I have a milk allergy) instead of regular. It came out awesome!! Set perfectly, didn't crack, and tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I loved this pie! My favorite dessert at Golden Corral is the Chocolate Chess Pie, and this turned out a little better than theirs. I did have to bake it a little longer than it called for to get it to set up, and I did cover the crust with aluminum foil to prevent it from getting too brown. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.RalstoninGA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Waco, Georgia, USA
Photo by KYMEEC70
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I found this recipe after a failed attempt at another Chess pie!! After reading recommendations from others, my alterations were as follows: I poked holes in the crust, covered the sides with aluminum foil to keep them from burning, and sprinkled a little coarse sea salt over the bottom. I used only 1 cup of sugar, and 3 1/2 heaping tbls cocoa powder, soft butter (not melted). I slightly beat my eggs in a glass bowl and set them aside. In a seperate bowl, I mixed my sugar and cocoa powder. I then added the milk, and blended with a hand mixer. I next added my butter and vanilla and mixed A LOT!!! I added my eggs at the end and because so many people commented about having problems with the pie rising, I added approximately 1 tbsp of self-rising flour at the very end. I mixed a little more and then poured the mixture over my crust. I baked on 325 for 1 hour. I then turned off the oven, left the pie inside, but opened the door for another 30 minutes. When I took the pie out I dusted it with confectioners sugar. It turned out fabulously!!! I am not a fan of most things that are very chocolately, but this pie was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Awesome recipe with a few tweaks from reviewers. Use only 1 cup sugar and 5 tbsp cocoa. heat everything except eggs together in saucepan until blended. Take a small amount of choc mix and add to eggs in separate bowl. Whisk together, then add this mixture to the remaining choc mix and heat and whisk until starts to thicken. Pour into shell. Also makes apps 15 tarts. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States